Mt Pleasant News

Wash Journal   Fairfield Ledger
Neighbors Growing Together | Aug 15, 2018

7 county players named All-District

New London baseball gets four first-teamers, Mt. Pleasant puts 3 names on list
Jul 30, 2018
Photo by: file photo Mt. Pleasant’s Jordan Mangani (Class 3A Southeast second team) was one of seven Henry County baseball players named to the 2018 All-Southeast District list.

By Andy Krutsinger, Mt. Pleasant News


The Iowa Baseball Coaches Association released its all-tournament team last week and two Henry County schools had players on the list. New London had a whopping four first-team names on the Class 1A list and Mt. Pleasant had three players named in Class 3A.

The teams are broken down into districts. New London’s four Class 1A names are tied for the most in the Southeast District. HLV (Hartwick-Ladora-Victor) also had four first-teamers.

Senior pitcher Britt Noel made the first team for New London as a pitcher. Noel pitched more innings (52) than any other Tiger and finished the year with a 1.35 ERA and 46 strikeouts. He finished the year with a 6-2 record.

At the plate, Noel hit .338 with two doubles, three triples and 13 RBIs. He also stole 12 bases.

Fellow New London senior Sam Loyd made the first team as a catcher. He hit .429 with two doubles and a team-leading 19 RBIs. He also stole 12 bases.

Loyd also helped the Tigers out on the mound, sporting a 4-0 record and a 1.08 ERA. He finished the year with 25 strikeouts.

Isaac McSorley made it on the Class 1A Southeast first team as a shortstop. The New London junior hit .381 with a team-leading 30 runs scored, eight doubles, four triples, four home runs and 14 RBIs. He also stole 24 bases.

On the mound, McSorley finished the year 8-0 with a 1.85 ERA and 40 strikeouts.

The final Tiger to find his name on the All-District list was Keontae Luckett. The junior made the first team as an outfielder. Luckett hit .351 with two doubles and 11 RBIs.

Luckett was one of the top baserunners on the team as well. He went 23-25 on stolen base attempts.

Mt. Pleasant’s Jordan Magnani made the Class 3A second team as a pitcher. Magnani went 9-3 on the mound this year with a 3.55 ERA and 48 strikeouts.

At the plate, the Panther senior hit .252 with 12 doubles, two triples and 15 RBIs.

Senior third basemen Cooper Huckabone also made the Southeast second team for the Panthers. Huckabone hit .377 with 10 doubles and two triples. He led the team with 40 RBIs and three homeruns.

Rylan Seberg was the only underclassmen to make the list for Mt. Pleasant. Seberg made the list as an outfielder, hitting .345 with three doubles, four triples and 23 RBIs.

Seberg was also one of the best Panther baserunners this season. He went 12-12 in stolen base attempts.

Listed below is the full list for the Southeast District in classes 1A and 3A. The player’s grade in school is listed in parenthesis.

CLASS 1A SOUTHEST FIRST TEAM: Pitcher: Caleb Banowetz (10), Calamus-Wheatland; Britt Noel (12), New London; Wyatt Gatton (12), Cardinal; Mitchell Thys (12), HLV. Catcher: Carson Crawford (11), Sigourney; Sam Loyd (12), New London. First base: Brendan Wood (11), HLV. Second base: Carson Cheney (10), HLV. Shortstop: Isaac McSorley (11), New London. Third base: Casey Smith (11), Moravia. Outfield: Robert Yoder (12), Highland; Dean Shaull (11), HLV; Tucker Babbit (12), Moravia; Keontae Luckett (11), New London. Utility: Garrett Straight (11), Belle Plaine; Mitchell Brent (10), Notre Dame; Brody Burton (11), Highland; Hunter Arbogast (11), Moravia; Noah Beck (10), BGM.

CLASS 1A SOUTHEAST SECOND TEAM: Pitcher: Gabe Ritter (12), Iowa Valley; Max Hansen (11), Calamus-Wheatland; Nicholas Skerik (10), Notre Dame; Griffin Cosgrove (12), Moravia. Catcher: Cody Timm (1), HLV; Mateo Varese (12), Moravia. First basemen: Cole Brenneman (12), Keota. Second base: Kade Chance (11), Cardinal. Shortstop: (11), Cardinal. Shortstop: Caden Fontinel (10), HLV. Third base: Dylan Shipley (12), North Mahaska. Outfield: Blaine Jordan (12), Iowa Valley; Cameron Krumm (12), Tri-County; Mac Conrad (11), Sigourney; Nick Martin (12), Moravia. Utility: Drew Chiprez (10), Notre Dame; Austin Waterhouse (11), Keota; Noah Mumby (11), Iowa Valley; Blaize Kuhlmann (10), Lynville-Sull; Keegan James (12), BGM.

CLASS 3A SOUTHEAST FIRST TEAM: Pitcher: Lucas Bixby (11), Central DeWitt; Julien Broderson (11), Assumption; Cam Miller (10), Solon. Catcher: Seth Adrian (10); Dalton Boecker (11), Keokuk. First base: Austin Simpson (11), Fairfield. Second base: Cam Steffens (12), Central DeWitt. Shorstop: Luke Ira (12), Solon. Hunter Hoskins (12), Fairfield. Outfield: Jayce Levy (12), Assumption; Cade Hennigan (11), Washington; Kendrick harris (12), Solon. Utility: Luke Turner (10), Washington; Garrett Finley (11), Central Dewitt; Cody Ogden (12), Clear Creek-Amana.

CLASS 3A SOUTHEAST SECOND TEAM: Pitcher: Graham Kuehl (12), Fairfield; Jordan Magnani (12), Mt. Pleasant; Nick Gottilla (11), Assumption. Catcher: Costa Papazogolou (11), Fairfield; Adam Bock (11), Solon. First base: Cooper Huckabone (12), Mt. Pleasant. Shorstop: Tristan Waugh (11), Fairfield. Shortstop: Cooper Drish (11), Fairfield. Third base: Daniel Powers (12), Assumption. Outfield: Hunter Drish (12) Fairfield; Luke Anderson (10), Central DeWitt; Rylan Seberg (10), Mt. Pleasant. Utility: Camden Armstrong (12), Clear Creek-Amana; Tyler Linderbaum (12), Solon; Devin Hurdle (11), Central DeWitt.


Comments (0)
If you wish to comment, please login.