Mt Pleasant News

Wash Journal   Fairfield Ledger
Neighbors Growing Together | Sep 21, 2018

Candidates announced for Nov.7 General Election

Seven candidates seek to fill three council seats for the city of New London
Sep 26, 2017

By Brooks Taylor, Mt. Pleasant News


New London voters will have ample choices for city council at the ballot box Nov. 7.

Nomination papers had to be filed with the city clerk by Sept. 21 for a ballot slot in the city elections, and there also will be contested seats in Salem, Wayland and Winfield.

However, New London has by far the most candidates as seven hopefuls, including the three incumbents have filed papers. Incumbents Dan Berner, Greg Malott and Frank A. Staley will face challenges from Chris Amburn, Scott Campbell, Brad Helmerson and Jeffrey Eldon Hummell for the three open chairs.

Longtime Wayland Mayor Bradley Roth is not seeking another term, and current council member Greg Rich is the only ballot candidate for the top slot. Running for two open council seats are incumbents Karole Miller and Melinda Ullery and newcomer Caylon DeVaul.

Salem Mayor Dan Patterson is seeking another four-year term, but four residents are running for two vacant council chairs. Gary Tedrow, who was appointed to the council this spring and served on the council in the past, is the only incumbent among the quartet. He will be joined on the ballot by Chistina Feehan, John C. Wagner and Jason R. Wesely. Jeremy Hunold, who currently serves on the council, is not seeking another term.

Winfield will elect three council members. Incumbents Ryan J. Kinneberg and Ryan K. Rees will be competing with Richard L. Lauderdale and Jennifer Wade for the posts.

Steven K. Brimhall is unopposed for another two-year term as mayor of Mt. Pleasant. However, two of the three council members — Deb Savage, Ward II, and Alan Huisinga, Ward IV — are not seeking another term. Terry Williams, incumbent councilman-at-large, will be joined on the ballot by Robert J. Griffith, Ward II, and Jeff Batty, Ward IV.

In Hillsboro, the mayor’s chair will go to a write-in as there are no announced candidates for the post. Incumbents Dwight Stanley and Gene Carter are the lone council candidates in Hillsboro for the two open terms.

Following are the candidates in the other county municipalities:


Mayor: Robert Schoolen; city council (vote for three): Tracie Sedacek*; Frankie Lee Nupp, Dustin Palmer,


Mayor: Mark Fulton; city council (vote for two): Raymond C. Meth*, Matthew Slagel*.


Mayor: Jeremy Lanferman*; city council (vote for five): Lester Garrison*, Martha Garrison*, Deb Sammons*, Cameron Sammons*, Maria Whetsler*.


Mayor: Brant C. Knudsen; city council (vote for three): Timothy Beavers*, Tobin Jacks, Gary Lane*.

Most mayoral and city council terms are four-year terms but a handful are just two years.

*Denotes incumbent.


Comments (0)
If you wish to comment, please login.