Mt Pleasant News

Wash Journal   Fairfield Ledger
Neighbors Growing Together | Nov 21, 2017

Cheerleaders win championship

Nov 06, 2012
Photo by: contributed The Mt. Pleasant competition cheer squad is pictured above. Back row, from left: Zana Jarrett, MacKena Steenblock, Michaela Mathews, Karla Figueroa, Jenny Miller, Andrea Glick, Jayde Mumme, Kailey Peterson, Jasmine Craff, Courtney Mabeus, Leslie Taylor and Jessie Sirivath. Front row, from left: Coach Nikole Taylor, Sidney Taylor, Amy Buckert, Chelsey Stark, Hailie Baccam, Morgan Barton and Gaby Moriera. The team is pictured with its first-place trophy from the Iowa State Cheerleading Championships.

DES MOINES — Their goal and motto for the year was “Make it happen.”

On Saturday, the Mt. Pleasant competition cheer squad did just that.

The Panther cheerleaders won the Class 3A division of the Iowa State Cheerleading Championships in Des Moines this weekend, placing first of 15 squads to take the title of state champion.

The competition was at the state fairgrounds. In addition to the full team competition, two Panther stunt groups also competed.

Stunt Team A was made up of Chelsey Stark, Gaby Moriera, Hailie Baccam, Leslie Taylor and Sidney Taylor.

Stunt Team B was Morgan Barton, Amy Buckert, Jayde Mumme, Kailey Peterson and Jessie Sirivath. Andrea Glick was the alternate.

Along with their team championship, one cheerleader received an individual honor: Sidney Taylor, a freshman, was announced as a member of the All-State Cheerleading team.

She, along with 31 other cheerleaders chosen from across Iowa, will perform at the boys’ state basketball tournament in March.

Comments (0)
If you wish to comment, please login.