Mt Pleasant News

Wash Journal   Fairfield Ledger
Neighbors Growing Together | Sep 18, 2018

County’s small schools compete in SEISC track meets

May 08, 2018

By Andy Krutsinger, Mt. Pleasant News


Henry County’s small schools gathered at two different sites for the Southeast Iowa Super Conference track and field meets on Thursday, May 3. New London and WACO were at New London for the South Division meet, while Winfield-Mt. Union traveled to Louisa-Muscatine to compete in the North Division.

The best result of anyone came from the New London girls, who finished third in the south with 94 points. The WACO girls were sixth, scoring 53. New London’s boys’ squad scored 63 points for fifth place and the WACO boys were sixth with 59 points. West Burlington-Notre Dame won both portions of the meet, taking the boys’ title with 166.50 points and the girls’ championship with 149.

W-MU finished fifth in the North Division girls’ standings, scoring 75.50 points. Mediapolis won the girls’ title with 174 points. In the boys’ standings, W-MU placed seventh with 59 points. Pekin won, scoring 154.

New London won five events in the South Division meet, including a sweep in the 800-meter run. Curry Jacobs took the boys’ 800-meters with a final time fo 2:19.04. Carson McSorley won the girls’ 800-meter run with a time of 2:22.77.

The Tigers also took both distance medley races. The boys’ team of Keontae Luckett, Matt Oliver, Jordy Johnson and Kyler Martin finished first in 3:53.95, and the girls’ squad of Jenna Hummell, Camryn Blint, Savannah Sutherland and McSorley took first in 4:36.66.

The final win of the day for New London came in the boys’ high jump competition, where Grant Swanson took first place with a leap of 5-10.

WACO had two conference champions, both coming on the boys’ side. Elijah McGohan took the 400-meter dash in 53.65 seconds, just edging New London’s Dallas Bell (54.03 seconds). Colton Horak won the 400-meter hurdles in 58.53 seconds.

W-MU took home two events at the North Division meet. Cecelia Hemsworth won the girls’ 800-meter run in 2:30.10, and the 4X100 team of Kolten Buster, Juanito Piper, B.J. Rodgers and Brandon Snowden took first in the boys’ 4X100 meter relay, crossing the tape in 45.42 seconds.

Comments (0)
If you wish to comment, please login.