Mt Pleasant News

Wash Journal   Fairfield Ledger
Neighbors Growing Together | Nov 20, 2017

Dr. Jeffrey Martinek selected Chadwick Teacher of the Year

Apr 26, 2013
Photo by: Courtesy of Iowa Wesleyan College Dr. Jeffrey, 2013 Chadwick Teacher of the Year

Iowa Wesleyan College Professor of English, Dr. Jeffrey Martinek, was named 2013 Chadwick Teacher of the Year during the annual Awards Day ceremony April 25. John Wojtecki, Muscatine, was named Extended Learning Instructor of the Year.

Martinek joined the Iowa Wesleyan faculty in 2007. He earned his bachelor’s degree in English from the University of Pennsylvania and his master’s degree and Ph.D. in English from Indiana University.

Prior to joining the Iowa Wesleyan College faculty, Martinek was at Missouri Southern State University where he served as associate professor of English and assistant director of the honors program. He has also served as an associate instructor at Indiana University.

Martinek chaired the President’s Task Force on Ethics and Excellence, which culminated in the passing of the IWC Academic Honor Code. He also served on the succeeding body, the Honor Code Implementation Task Force. He is one of the coordinators for “WordUp! Wesleyan,” an annual campus event celebrating National Poetry Month, and an advisor for Design, the College literary magazine.

The Chadwick Teacher of the Year Award has been presented annually at Iowa Wesleyan College since 1971. This honor was named for Dr. J. Raymond Chadwick, who served as president of Iowa Wesleyan College from 1950 to 1961. Recipients must demonstrate academic and professional excellence, quality of interaction with students, development of effective programs of high quality, and support of student growth and development.

Wojtecki began teaching in the Iowa Wesleyan Extended Learning program in 1996. He has taught IWC classes in human resource management and organizational behavior in Muscatine and West Burlington, pioneered teaching classes on live, interactive video and will be teaching online courses this coming year.

He earned his bachelor’s degree in economics from Mt. Saint Mary’s college in Maryland, attended Gannon University in Erie, Pa., and completed his master of science degree at Drake University. Last year he earned his Ph.D. from Capella University.

The Extended Learning Instructor of the Year Award has been presented annually at the College since 1997. This honor recognizes outstanding teaching through the Iowa Wesleyan College Extended Learning program.

Comments (0)
If you wish to comment, please login.