Mt Pleasant News

Wash Journal   Fairfield Ledger
Neighbors Growing Together | Oct 17, 2017

Essary Hoyer, Eichelberger, Weber will head county political parties

Mar 26, 2013

Henry County Democrats and Republicans elected new county party chairs during their off-year caucuses March 18.

Mary Essary Hoyer, Salem, will chair the Democratic party while Bruce Weber, Mt. Pleasant, and Troy Eichelberger, Wayland, were elected co-chairs of the Republicans.

Hoyer takes the reins from Dave Helman, Salem. Helman headed the county group for nine years.

Other officers of the county Democratic party include Bob Petrzelka, Mt. Pleasant, first vice chair; Emery Styron, Mt. Pleasant, second vice chair; Pat Richenberger, Mt. Pleasant, treasurer; and Deb Batey, Mt. Pleasant, secretary. Batey takes over for Cathy Helman of Salem.

Hoyer is a native of Lee County and recently returned to southeast Iowa. She spent most of her professional career working in the photonics industry.

State Sen. Rich Taylor, D-Mt. Pleasant, addressed the Democratic caucus.

Weber and Eichelberger replace Brian Roth in the GOP leadership post. Roth headed the party the past four years.

Brant Knudsen, Mt. Pleasant, was elected treasurer, and Tamai Fenstermaker, Mt. Pleasant, treasurer.

All terms (for both parties) are two years.

Weber is a 1993 graduate of Mt. Mercy College, Cedar Rapids. He received the 2010 LD 29 Precinct Committeeman of the Year award in Tucson, Ariz.

Weber said Roth plans to remain active in the party. “Our Republican Central Committee membership congratulates Brian for four solid years of leadership.”

The Republicans hosted their off-year caucus at First United Methodist Church in Mt. Pleasant, and the Democrats met in Salem.


Comments (0)
If you wish to comment, please login.