Mt Pleasant News

Wash Journal   Fairfield Ledger
Neighbors Growing Together | Oct 19, 2017

Field set for 2013 school elections

Contested races at New London, W-MU
Aug 06, 2013

Something old, something new.

The field has been set for the Sept. 10 school board elections in Henry County.

While the majority of the field is seeking re-election, there are newcomers in three of the four county school districts.

Mt. Pleasant is the only school district where each director up for re-election has submitted nomination papers for re-election.

New London and Winfield-Mt. Union will have the only contested election with three candidates seeking two at-large slots on each board.

Directors will be elected to four-year terms and nomination papers had to be filed with school board secretaries by Aug. 1.

Following is the slate of candidates. An asterisk indicates incumbency.

Mt. Pleasant Community School District

Director District 5 — Brad Holtkamp*

Director District 2 — Regina Erickson*

Director District 1 — Lyle Murray*

New London Community School District

Director District At-Large — Michael McBeth

Director District At-Large — Shane Mettler

Director District At-Large — Lindsay Porter*

Winfield-Mt. Union Community School District

Director District At-Large — Mindy Shelledy*

Director District At-Large — Joy M. Sparrow

Director District At-Large — Robin L. Therme*

WACO Community School District

Director District 2 — Tim Gerot

Director District At-Large — Tim Graber*

Director District 4 — No announced candidate, seat will be filled through write-in vote.

In the WACO District, Tim Graber currently represents District 2 but opted to run for the at-large post. JoEllen Jepson (currently at-large member) and Jarod Graber, District 4, opted not to seek re-election.

New London’s three candidates are running for two open seats. Incumbent Director Bob McPheron opted not to seek re-election.

The same is true at Winfield-Mt. Union where incumbents Robin Therme and Mindy Shelledy will be locked in a race with newcomer Joy M. Sparrow for the two open seats.

In all county school districts with director districts, candidates run by district and are chosen through an at-large vote. That means the candidate has to reside in the district he/she represents but is chosen through a vote of all eligible electors in the district.


Comments (0)
If you wish to comment, please login.