Mt Pleasant News

Wash Journal   Fairfield Ledger
Neighbors Growing Together | Sep 25, 2018

Five MP boys named first-team All-SEC

Sartorius named Player of the Year, Magnani makes first team
Mar 08, 2018
Photo by: Andy Krutisinger Brady Sartorius (left) was named SEC Player of the Year in 2017-18.

By Andy Krutsinger, Mt. Pleasant News


The Southeast Conference released its all-conference boys’ basketball teams this week. As expected, the Panther boys were well represented, getting all five starters onto the lists.

Brady Sartorius and Jordan Magnani made the first team. Sartorius was named Player of the Year for the third straight year after another stellar season. Sartorius averaged 23.1 points per game this season, hitting 43 three-pointers along the way. He also led his team with 113 assists and 69 steals.

Magnani made his way on the first team after once again finishing second on the team in scoring. He put up 14.5 points per game this year, including a team-leading 45 made three-pointers. Magnani was second on the team in three categories; rebounds (93), assists (71) and steals (56).

Jonathan Ita and Kieran Kohorst each made the All-SEC second team. Ita scored seven points per game, which included a 48.6 percent mark from the three-point line. Kohorst scored seven points per game as well, and led the team with 109 rebounds and five blocked shots.

Colin Mulford was the lone Panther honorable mention. Mulford scored 6.2 points per game this season and, like Ita, had a scolding hot three-point percentage, at 47.5 percent.

Mt. Pleasant also filled the Academic All-Conference list, getting almost half the list, with nine names. You must be a junior or a senior to earn that honor.

The Full All-SEC lists can be found below with the player’s grade in school listed in parenthesis.

FIRST TEAM ALL-CONFERENCE: Brady Sartorius (12), Mt. Pleasant (POY); Austin Simpson (11), Fairfield; Jordan Magnani (12), Mt. Pleasant; Treavor Kokjohn (12), Ft. Madison; Kaleb Cresswell (12), Ft. Madison; Dante Cingire (12), Fairfield.

SECOND TEAM ALL-CONFERENCE: Jack Redlinger (12), Washington; Carson Crile (11), Fairfield; Tristin Waugh (11), Fairfield; Jonathan Ita (12), Mt. Pleasant; Kieran Kohorst (12), Mt. Pleasant; Logan Rashid (11), Ft. Madison.

THIRD TEAM ALL-CONFERENCE: Collin Breen (11), Fairfield; Cole Engle (11), Fairfield; Drew Martin (10), Fairfield; Brandon Keester (11), Ft. Madison; DreSean Moody (12), Keokuk; Colin Mulford (12), Mt. Pleasant; Cale Hobsheidt (12), Washington; Luke Turner (10), Washington.

ACADEMIC ALL-CONFERENCE: Brittan Bowman (11), Fairfield; Carson Crile (11), Fairfield; Mark Diers (11), Fairfield; Cole Engle (11), Fairfield; Aaron Haines (12), Fairfield; Bryanna Popejoy (manager), Fairfield; Alex Wolter (11), Keokuk; Sam Beatty (11), Mt. Pleasant; Tucker Johnson (11), Mt. Pleasant; Levi Puig (11), Mt. Pleasant; Jacob Stukerjurgen (11), Mt. Pleasant; Maison Ashton (12), Mt. Pleasant; Jonathan Ita (12), Mt. Pleasant; Kieran Kohorst (12), Mt. Pleasant; Jordan Magnani (12), Mt. Pleasant; Brady Sartorius (12), Mt. Pleasant; Benjamin Baughman (manager), Washington; Cade Hennigan (11), Washington; Chase McDole (manager), Washington; Mason Sinn (manager), Washington; Jacob Van Osdol (12), Washington.

Comments (0)
If you wish to comment, please login.