Mt Pleasant News

Wash Journal   Fairfield Ledger
Neighbors Growing Together | Sep 20, 2018

Five Panther girls’ b-ball players named ALL-SEC

Maddie Williamson and Kalynn Batey represent Mt. Pleasant on first team
Feb 28, 2018
MPN file photo Kalynn Batey scored 14.5 points per game this year and led the team in both rebounds and steals to earn her spot on the squad.

By Andy Krutsinger,

Mt. Pleasant News


The Southeast Conference released its All-Conference girls’ basketball team this week. Mt. Pleasant had five players named, with two on the first team, one on the second team and two honorable mention.

Junior guard Maddie Williamson and senior wing Kalynn Batey were each named to the All-SEC first team. The two were the leading scorers for Mt. Pleasant all year and led the Panthers to a third place finish in the conference.

Williamson was the top scorer for MPCHS, scoring 16.1 points per game in her junior year. She was also second on the team in steals, swiping the ball away 42 times this year.

Batey was the second leading scorer at 16.1 points per game. She also led the team with 173 rebounds and 46 steals, and finished second on the squad in assists, with 53.

Isabel Ashton, a sophomore wing, was named to the All-SEC second team. Ashton finished third on the team with six points per game this season.

Two Panthers were named to the Honorable Mention list. Senior point guard Taylor Murray was named to the team, as was junior post Sadie Carrasco.

Murray scored two points per game and led Mt. Pleasant with 75 assists and 18 blocked shots. Carrasco finished second with 106 rebounds and 16 blocked shots.

Four Panthers; Carrasco, Batey, Murray and Williamson were named to the Academic All-SEC list.

The Player of the Year for 2017-18 was Fairfield’s Amber Nichole Buch. Listed below are the full ALL-Conference teams, with the athlete’s grade in school listed in parenthesis.

ALL-SEC FIRST TEAM: Sarah Nacos (12), Washington; Kalynn Batey (12), Mt. Pleasant; Maddie Williamson (11), Mt. Pleasant; Michaela Davis (12), Keokuk; Shaylin Drish (10), Fairfield; Amber Nicole Buch (12), Farifield (POY).

ALL-SEC SECOND TEAM: Aryn Kindig (12), Keokuk; Addison Six (10), Washington; Isabel Ashton (10), Mt. Pleasant; Jakala Hall (12), Keokuk; Kara Jeffrey (11), Fairfield; Ashley Bloomquist (11), Fairfield.

ALL-SEC HONORABLE MENTION: Sadie Carrasco (11), Mt. Pleasant; Taylor Murray (12), Mt. Pleasant; Ashtyn Drish (12), Fairfield; Ashtyn Drish (12), Fairfield; Malory Jones (11), Fairfield; Destiny Gridley (10), Fairfield; Keaja Lacy (11), Keokuk; Michenna Davis (10), Keokuk; Cassidy Koeber (10), Keokuk; Kamryn Bailey (12), Ft. Madison; Taylor Shannon (12), Ft. Madison; Brooke Stout (12), Washington; Morgan Brinning (12), Washington.

MT. PLEASANT ACADEMIC ALL-SEC: Sadie Carrasco (11), Maddie Williamson (11), Kalynn Batey (12) and Taylor Murray (12).

Comments (0)
If you wish to comment, please login.