Mt Pleasant News

Wash Journal   Fairfield Ledger
Neighbors Growing Together | Nov 23, 2017

Hampton among officials to be honored at IHSAA banquet

Apr 25, 2014

A total of 170 athletic officials are scheduled to receive awards at the Iowa High School Athletic Association’s 20th Annual Officials Banquet and Recognition Ceremony, Saturday, April 26, at Hy-Vee Hall in Des Moines.

One of the officials to be honored is Mt. Pleasant’s Mike Hampton, who has been an official for 35 years.

Hampton, who is the Iowa Wesleyan College Director of Athletic Development and Engagement, as well as the IWC softball coach and former Mt. Pleasant High School softball coach, has been officiating high school basketball games in Iowa for three and half decades.

Hampton was inducted into Iowa Girls’ High School Coaches Association Officials Hall of Fame earlier this month. He received his plaque for that honor at a banquet in Cedar Rapids April 6.

At the IGHSAU recognition banquet this weekend, the keynote speaker is Bernie Saggau, former IHSAA Executive Director who spent 42 years with the Athletic Association.

The list of honored officials includes seven officials who each have 50 years of service. Those officials are Darrell G. Brand of Montezuma; John H. Dirth of Burlington; David E. Happel from Vinton; Gary D. Paulsen from Ogden; William C. Phillips of Mediapolis; Ken L. Slater of Cherokee; and Ron Wing from Sioux City.

Thirty-nine individuals will be honored for 35 years of service; 46 others for 25 years and 59 for completing 15 years of officiating. In addition, awards will be given to four district new officials of the year and 13 others will receive plaques as the National Federation of Officials’ state award winner as official of the year in a particular sport.


Comments (0)
If you wish to comment, please login.