Mt Pleasant News

Wash Journal   Fairfield Ledger
Neighbors Growing Together | Nov 18, 2017

Here's where you vote today

Jun 03, 2014

Polls will be open from 7 a.m.-9 p.m. today in Henry County for Iowa’s primary election.

Following are the county precincts and respective voting sites.

Northwest precinct — Wayland City Hall; includes Jefferson Township, Wayne Township residents living west of James Avenue, cities of Wayland, Coppock and Olds.

Northeast precinct — Winfield City Hall; includes Scott and Canaan townships, Wayne Township residents living east of James Avenue, cities of Winfield and Mt. Union.

Central precinct — Cottrell Gymnasium wrestling room; includes Trenton, Tippecanoe, Marion and Center townships, cities of Rome and Westwood.

Precinct 4 — Cottrell Gymnasium; Mt. Pleasant Ward I.

Precinct 5 — Cottrell Gymnasium; Mt. Pleasant Ward II.

Precinct 6 — Cottrell Gymnasium; Mt. Pleasant Ward III.

Precinct 7 — Cottrell Gymnasium; Mt. Pleasant Ward IV.

Southwest precinct — Salem Community Building; includes Salem and Jackson townships, cities of Salem and Hillsboro.

Southeast precinct — New London Community Center; includes New London and Baltimore townships, city of New London.

The only local election on today’s ballot is choosing the Republican nominee for State Representative. 10-term incumbent State Rep. Dave Heaton of Mt. Pleasant is being challenged for the nod by Ralph Holmstrom of Mt. Pleasant.

On the state level, Iowa Republicans will be choosing their nominee for U.S. Senator and those living in Iowa Congressional District 2 (including Henry County) will be selecting a November ballot candidate in a race between Dr. Mariannette Miller-Meeks, Mark Lofgren and Matthew Waldren. Candidates vying for the U.S. Senate nomination are Scott Schaben, Matt Whitaker, Sam Clovis, Joni Ernst and Mark Jacobs.

Iowa Republican Gov. Terry Branstad faces token primary opposition from Tom Hoefing.

Iowa is a closed primary state, meaning those residents registered as non-party must declare a party (Republican or Democrat) before being able to vote. They can switch their status back to non-party after the election.




Comments (0)
If you wish to comment, please login.