Mt Pleasant News

Wash Journal   Fairfield Ledger
Neighbors Growing Together | Sep 25, 2018

IW seniors collect men’s basketball honors

Butler, Drey and Johnson all honored with postseason awards
Mar 01, 2018
MPN file photo Brock Butler was named to the SLIAC All-Conference first team for the 2017-18 basketball season.

By Andy Krutsinger, Mt. Pleasant News


All three of Iowa Wesleyan’s seniors earned postseason honors this year for the men’s basketball season. Brock Butler, Mitchell Drey and Elijah Johnson were all honored by either the St. Louis Intercollegiate Athletic Conference or the United States Collegiate Athletic Association.

Butler led the way with a selection to the All-SLIAC first team and a spot on the USCAA All-American team. Butler had a stellar year this year, averaging 27 points per game and 6.6 rebounds per game. Butler led the conference in field goals made during the regular season and was second in the league in scoring.

Butler climbed to seventh on the ALl-Time scoring list at IW before walking off the court for the last time, finishing his career with 1,573 points. He was second all time in three-point field goals made, with 233, and fourth in free throw percentage at 79.2 percent.

Drey finished the year with 17.1 points per game and 4.8 rebounds per game for the Tigers. That perforamnce earned him a spot on the USCAA All-American team as well.

Johnson was named to the SLIAC All-Sportsmanship team in his senior season. He was the player who best represented the ideals of sportsmanship for the Tiger men. Johnson averaged with 11.4 points per game for the Tigers and finished his career 10th in three-pointers made, with 147.

The three seniors were the leaders for the Tiger men all year, and were the only three players to finish the year in double digit scoring.

Eureka College’s Shea Feehan was the SLIAC’s leading scorer this year and earned the Player of the Year honor. Greenville University’s George Barber and Blackburn College’s Steve Kollar split Coach of the Year honors.

The full All-SLIAC men’s basketball teams can be found below.

FIRST TEAM ALL-CONFERENCE: Brock Butler, Iowa Wesleyan University; Johari Dix, Greenville University; Shea Feehan, Eureka College (POY); Brent Long, MacMurray College; Kobe Wands, Westminster College.

SECOND TEAM ALL-CONFERENCE: Parker Davidson, Principia College; Micah Paulson, Principia College; Malcolm Scott, Blackburn College; Carter Wands, Westminster College; Nigel Wilcox, Webster University.

THIRD TEAM ALL-CONFERENCE: Dakota Bennington, Eureka College; Dominique Ellis, Spalding University; TreVaughn Goodman, Principia College; Karson Hayes, Blackburn College; Isiah Price, Greenville University; Hank Thomas, Eureka College.

SLIAC ALL-DEFENSIVE TEAM: Parker Davidson, Principia College; Johari Dix, Greenville University; Nigel Ferrell, Blackburn College; Ryan McElmurry, Eureka College; Carter Wands, Westminster College; Nigel Wilcox, Webster Univeristy.

SLIAC ALL-SPORTSMANSHIP TEAM: Reed Rusten, Blackburn College; Brady Sanders, Eureka College; James Wiggins, Fontbonne University; Ethan Leib, Greenville University; Elijah Johnson, Iowa Wesleyan University; Derek Bourke, MacMurray College; Brennen Paulson, Principia College; Dominic Newton, Webster University; Casey McCollum, Westminster University.


Comments (0)
If you wish to comment, please login.