Mt Pleasant News

Wash Journal   Fairfield Ledger
Neighbors Growing Together | Oct 16, 2017

Jensen to be honored by IFCA

By Ashlee De Wit | Oct 10, 2013
Photo by: contributed Bob Jensen

Former Mt. Pleasant football coach Bob Jensen has been chosen by the Iowa Football Coaches Association as the latest recipient of the Walt Fiegel Coaching for Character Award.

Fiegel was a long-time football coach at Sioux City East. He also served as executive director of the Iowa Football Coaches Association (IFCA) for many years.

With his passing in November 2003, the IFCA instituted an annual award to be presented during the football championships.

According to the Walt Fiegel Foundation website, the award recognizes a coach who embodies the high character, integrity and concern for kids and service to the profession that were so evident during Coach Fiegel’s career.

“Receiving this award means a heck of a lot,” Jensen said. “I was surprised — it is probably the most humbling thing that’s ever happened to me. I’ve held people who get that award in highest esteem.

“I am shocked, humbled and very honored,” he added.

Recipients of the award are nominated and chosen by a five-member committee.

“When you look at (Jensen’s) body of work — not only as a coach, but also the impact he’s had on the school and the community — he exemplifies the person we want to recognize with this award,” said Scott Heitland, football coach at Dallas Center-Grimes and president elect of the IFCA. “He really stood out among the nominees this year as someone who’s very fitting for the award.”

Jensen had a 40-year career as a teacher and a football coach, including 39 years at Mt. Pleasant.

He was the Panthers’ head football coach for 24 years and retired this past spring. He had a career head coaching record of 159-77. He made 13 trips to the playoffs, and took his team as far as the state semifinals on three occasions.

“I know (Jensen) has a lot of respect from his peers, both in his area and across the state,” Heitland said.

Jensen will be presented with the award at halftime of the 4A state championship football game, which will be at the UNI-Dome in Cedar Falls on Friday, Nov. 22.


Former winners of the Walt Fiegel Coaching For Character Award are listed below.

2004: Ken Winkler of West Marshall

2005: Jerry Staton of Albia

2006: Tom Stone of Pekin

2007: Ed Thomas of Aplington- Parkersburg

2008: Bob McCoy of Bedford

2009: Darrell Schumacher of Oskaloosa

2010: Gaylord Schelling of Atlantic

2011: Bill Kibby of JSPC

2012: Curt Baldt of Harlen


Comments (0)
If you wish to comment, please login.