Mt Pleasant News

Wash Journal   Fairfield Ledger
Neighbors Growing Together | Nov 22, 2017

Jim and Marlene DePriest are Mt. Pleasant's 2012 Citizens of the Year

Jan 25, 2013
Photo by: Bill Gray Jim, right, and Marlene, center, DePriest were honored Thursday night as 2012 Citizens of the Year at the Mt. Pleasant Area Chamber Alliance banquet. The DePriests have long been active in music endeavors in the community. Jim is the high school vocal music director and Marlene is the middle school vocal music instructor. Presenting the couple with their plaque is Deb Sinclair.


Mt. Pleasant News

Jim and Marlene DePriest, long-time music educators for the community, were recipients of the annual Citizen of the Year award presented as a highlight of the Mt. Pleasant Chamber Alliance Annual Meeting and banquet Thursday at the Mt. Pleasant Golf and Country Club.

“We thank you for allowing us to teach our kids,” Jim DePriest said as he and his wife, both teachers 20 years for Mt. Pleasant Community Schools, accepted the award.

Marlene DePriest is vocal music/choir instructor at Mt. Pleasant Middle School and directs the Mt. Pleasant Community High School Marching Band Color Guard. Jim DePriest is MPCHS band instructor, and his duties include directing the marching band and the Mt. Pleasant Marching Band Festival. Both are graduates of Iowa Wesleyan College.

The DePriests were headliners in an evening of awards and accolades for individuals as well as Chamber accomplishments. Kathy Nellor, recently retired as market president for Two Rivers Bank, was given the annual Volunteer of the Year award as well as recognition for completing her year as chairperson of the Chamber Board of Directors.

Mark Petty, director of admissions for IWC, was handed the gavel to take over as 2013 Chamber board chairperson.

Nellor, as well as Chamber Membership Chairperson Judy Marshall and Executive Vice President Kiley Miller, all called attention to the Chamber’s accomplishment of achieving in excess of 300 members during 2012. Nellor, in fact, submitted her associate membership dues at the annual meeting to become the organization’s 306th member.

Another theme citied by Chamber leaders was a youth movement. Nellor noted the AMP young professionals organization of the chamber now boasted 80 members, and also cited young leadership on the chamber board. Re3cognized as outgoing board members were Nellor and Troy Spence of Edward Jones; incoming members are Lori White of Staats, Terry Smith of Agri-Center of Henry County and Tim Mansfield of Hy-Vee Foods.

Recognized with Expansion awards were Mt. Pleasant Electric and owner Scott Mabeus, and Amy and Scott Lowe, owners of Main Street Cinemas. Mabeus’ business doubled its square footage after purchasing and remodeling a building near its original site; the Lowes are overseeing a massive overall of the long-time theater building, and have installed state-of-the-art seating, sound and viewing equipment and a brand new concession area.

The banquet also held its annual auction of goods and services donated by members, raising well in excess of the $7,050 value placed on the 11 separate bid groups.


Comments (0)
If you wish to comment, please login.