Mt Pleasant News

Wash Journal   Fairfield Ledger
Neighbors Growing Together | Sep 25, 2018

Massner, Tai rake in postseason awards for IW women

Massner honored in athletics and academics, Tai makes All-Sportsmanship team
Mar 01, 2018
Photo by: Andy Krutsinger Darby Massner was honored both on and off the court this postseason. She was named to the SLIAC women’s All-Conference first team, as well as the CoSIDA All-American team.

By Andy Krutsinger, Mt. Pleasant News


Two Iowa Wesleyan women’s basketball players were named to the All-Conference list for the St. Louis Intercollegiate Athletic Conference in 2017-18. Darby Massner was given second team honors and Ahlia Tai was named to the All-Sportsmanship team.

Massner, a junior, scored 14.7 points per game this season and pulled down 6.8 rebounds per game to earn her spot on the second team. Massner was the third-leading scorer in the SLIAC this year.

It wasn’t just the SLIAC who recognized Massner this year. She was also the lone Tiger to be named to the United States Athletic Association’s All-American team for the 17-18 women’s basketball season.

The Tiger junior was also recognized in the classroom. Massner was named to the Academic All-District team by the College Sports Information Directors of America.

The CoSIDA Academic All-District teams are divided into eight geographic districts across the United States in Canada. Iowa shares its NCAA Division III district with 20 other states and Canada, and just seven players were named to the team.

Massner, a Business Administration major, was one of just two juniors named to the team. She also had the highest GPA of anyone named to her district, sporting a perfect 4.00.

Tai was named to the SLIAC All-Sportsmanship Team. This means she represented the Tigers as the player who best represents the ideals of sportsmanship. Tai is in her senior year at Iowa Wesleyan.

Eureka College’s Haley Renau was named the Player of the Year for the 17-18 women’s basketball season. Greenville University coach Roy Mulholland was the Coach of the Year.

The full list of players named to the SLIAC women’s All-Conference teams can be found below.

FIRST TEAM ALL-CONFERENCE: Kendahl Adams, Westminster College; Aley Lucas, Webster University; Alex Martin, Spalding University; Hayley Reneau, Eureka College (POY); Wesley Woodard, Greenville University.

SECOND TEAM ALL-CONFERENCE: Kennedy Dura, Eureka College; Kerrigan Dura, Eureka College; Laure Goodnight, Greenville University; Darby Massner, Iowa Wesleyan University; Maria Reinhard, Greenville University.

THIRD TEAM ALL-CONFERENCE: Grace Archambault, Westminster College; Paige Black, Fontbonne University; Allison Just, Spalding University; Kelsey Miller, Webster University; Raven Venegas, Fontbonne University.

SLIAC ALL-DEFENSIVE TEAM: Grace Archambault, Westminster College; Paige Black, Fontbonne University; Megan Brandt, Webster University; Jenna Dudra, Blackburn College; Alex Martin, Spalding University; Lelanda Matthews, Spalding University; Hayley Reneau, Eureka College.

SLIAC ALL-SPORTSMANSHIP TEAM: Kate Smith, Blackburn College; Ashley Harfst, Eureka College; Colleen Ahearn, Fontbonne University; Lauren Stephenson, Greenville College; Ahlia Tai, Iowa Wesleyan University; Karyssa Pederson, MacMurray College; Jenna Thornhill, Spalding University; Kylie Shoot, Webster University; Mikalyn Callahan, Westminster College.


Comments (0)
If you wish to comment, please login.