Mt Pleasant News

Wash Journal   Fairfield Ledger
Neighbors Growing Together | Oct 23, 2017

MP boys’ cross-country team gets end-of-year awards, Bodenham named Academic All-State

Nov 15, 2016


Mt. Pleasant News

The Mt. Pleasant boys’ cross-country team held their end-of-year banquet on Monday, where runners were given their end-of-season awards.

Logan Murray, a senior who placed seventh at the state meet this year, was named MVP. Cody Mertens, who was 16th at the state meet, won the Most Improved award.

Ben Zihlman was awarded the Panther award, and Moyle and Alec Gardner won the Most Potential awards.

Mt. Pleasant had 10 runners make Academic All-Conference. Adam Bodenham, Jacob Holtkamp, Joey Holtkamp, Ryan Hutchinson, Jonathan Ita, Dalton Krum, Jack Pieper, Kyle Vanderham, Murray and Zihlman were all named to the team.

Bodenham, Pieper, Zihlman, Joey Holtkamp, Ita and Vanderham were named to the MP Scholar list, which is made of runners who had a B or better in every class this year.

Bodenham had another special honor. He was one of 27 boys who were named to the Academic All-State list.

To make Academic All-State, a runner must be a senior who had a 3.8 or higher cumulative GPA, a cumulative score of 28 or higher on the ACT and be a state qualifier or finish in the top 30 at a state-qualifying meet during the year of application.

Panther letter winners this year were Bodenham, Hutchinson, Krum, Murray, Zihlman, Vanderham, Ita and Mertens.

Participation certificates went to Joey and Jacob Holtkamp, Pieper, Jacob Alanis, Nolan Quade, Thad Brooks, Alec Gardner, Dalton Moyle, Noel Lopez, Nick McCormick, Levi Mills, Tyler Raub and Logan White.


Comments (0)
If you wish to comment, please login.