Mt Pleasant News

Wash Journal   Fairfield Ledger
Neighbors Growing Together | Sep 18, 2018

MP crushes state-qualifying night

Panther boys and girls win district meet, all four county schools have qualifiers
May 11, 2018
Photo by: Andy Krutsinger Mt. Pleasant’s Rylan Seberg leaps to his winning mark in the long jump.

By Andy Krutsinger, Mt. Pleasant News


The best area track and field athletes in the state were in action on Thursday night in state-qualifying meets all over Iowa. Mt. Pleasant absolutely domianted in their 3A meet, sending a total of 30 atheletes to the state meet. New London, WACO and Winfield-Mt. Union all sent through athletes at the 1A meet in Wayland, and there is still the possibility of more qualifiers when the at-large qualifying list comes out.

The Panther boys won the district meet with 229 points, which were 119 points ahead of second-place Iowa City Liberty. The Panther girls won with 155.50 points, which was 49.50 points ahead of second-place Davenport Assumption.

Cody Mertens was a double-winner for Mt. Pleasant. He won the 1600-meter run, finishing in 4:33.58, and took the 3200-meter run in 9:59.80. Jake Lowe took two as well. He won the 110-meter hurdles in 14.86 seconds, edging Cole burns (14.88 seconds) for second to qualify both. Lowe won the 400-meter hurdles in 57.46 seconds, finishing ahead of second-place Chase Lamm, who qualified in 58.44 seconds.

The Panther boys qualified two in the 800-meter run. Kyle Vanderham won in 2:03.40 and Jacob Stukerjurgen took second in 2:03.75. Rylan Seberg (23.32 seconds) and Khang Truong (23.83 seconds) went one-two in the 200-meter dash.

Rylan Seberg leaped a 21-04 to win the long jump. Keegan Rich qualified as well, finishing second with a 21-02.75. Truong took the 100-meter dash in 11.57 seconds.

The shuttle hurdle team of Rich, Lamm, Burns and Lowe won in 56.61 seconds. The 4X100 team of Rich, Burns, Seberg and Truong won in 43.93 seconds. The 4X200 squad of Rich, Zach Beason, William Copeland and Truong took first in 1:33.07.

The Panther boys’ 4X800 team also won. The squad of Brody Bender, Jonathan Ita, Stukerjurgen and Vanderham crossed the finish line in 8:15.59. The distance medley team of Tate Shull, Lamm, Seberg and Stukerjurgen also won, finishing in 3:42.67.

Mt. Pleasant had a couple more second-place finishes. Sam Beatty took second in the high jump, leaping a 6-00. Tristin Dirth was second in the discus, throwing a 149-01.

The Panther girls sent three throwers to state. Alyssa Striegel won the discus throw with a 106-08. Lexie Magnani threw a 38-01.25 to win the shot put and Grace Bittle finished second in the shot put with a 36-06.

Maggie Cristoforo won the 400-meter hurdles with a time of 1:06.86. The 4X800 team of Cristoforo, Maggie Jennings, Delaney McDowell and Taylor Murray won in 9:56.39. The distance medley team of Avery Sutter, Kalynn Batey, Cristoforo and Murray won in 9:56.39.

Abby Ryon qualified in the 3000-meter run, finishing second with a time of 10:50.94. The shuttle hurdle team of Williamson, Karsyn Lamm, Batey and Serenity Keomanivong took second in 1:09.11, and the 4X400 team of Kendall Dascher, McDowell, Murray and Cristoforo placed second in 4:10.40.

The New London girls finished third place at WACO with 82 points and qualified two events for state. Carson McSorley won the 400-meter hurdles with a time of 1:05.21, and the distance medley team of Jenna Hummell, Camryn Blint, Savannah Sutherland and McSorley won in 4:21.27.

The W-MU girls scored 47 points for seventh, qualifying two individuals. Cecelia Hemsworth moved on in the 800-meter run, finishing in 2:33.08. Anna Hudson won the shot put with a throw of 34-05.75.

The WACO boys finished seventh with 52 points and qualified one runner. Colton Horak won the 400-meter hurdles in 58.03 seconds.

Teams that did not automatically qualify anyone were the WACO girls (ninth, 36 points), the W-MU boys (fifth, 64.5 points) and the New London boys (tied for eighth, 27 points). A full list, which includes at-large berths (based on time) will be released this weekend.

Comments (0)
If you wish to comment, please login.