Mt Pleasant News

Wash Journal   Fairfield Ledger
Neighbors Growing Together | Nov 17, 2017

MP wrestlers shut out from state

Feb 13, 2017
Photo by: Andy Krutsinger Zach Beason takes on Preston LaGrange of Cedar Rapids Prairie in the third-place match at 182 lbs.

By Andy Krutsinger, Mt. Pleasant News


The Mt. Pleasant wrestlers advanced seven athletes to the district semifinals on Saturday but the Panthers couldn’t get anyone into the top two.

The Panthers ended the district tournament with one third-place finisher and five fourth-place finishers but no MP wrestlers were able to punch their ticket to Des Moines.

Zach Beason was the lone top-three finisher for Mt. Pleasant, finishing third at 182 lbs. Corbin Broeker (106 lbs.), Avante Henley (132 lbs.), Nate Wallace (138 lbs.), James DeMeyer (152 lbs.), Tyler Daivs (160 lbs.) and Dalton Shull (220 lbs.) all placed fourth.

Beason started his day with a 10-9 decision over Bryan Cordova of Ottumwa. He was pinned by Brock Hunger of Iowa City High in the first period of the second round.

Beason outlasted Luke Roose in the third place match with a 13-8 decision, and was able to wrestle for a true second place at the end of the night. He was defeated, however, by Preston LaGrange of Cedar Rapids Prairie, on an 8-2 decision.

Broeker defeated Elton Kruse of Ft. Madison on a 11-5 decision to make the semifinal round. In the semis, he was pinned in the second period by Conrad Braswell of Prairie. Later on in the third place match, Broeker was pinned in the second period by Ethan Wood-Finley of City High.

Henley got a third-period pin against Jackson Kargol of Oskaloosa in the first round. He was then pinned by Prairie’s Trenten Wennermark in the first period of his semifinal match and lost to Aaron Steffensmeier of Ft. Madison, 7-0, in the third-place match.

Wallace dominated his first match, beating Pella’s Sam Fredrickson, 16-8, for a major decision. Harlan Steffensmeier pinned Wallace in the first period of the semifinals. In the third-place match, Wallace was pinned in the second period by Jonathan Morales of Ottumwa.

DeMeyer defeated Pella’s James VanGorp on an 11-4 decision to start the night off. He was then pinned in the second period by Nelson Brands of Iowa City West in the semifinals. He lost a tough one in the third-place match, 6-4, to Morgan Hood of Prairie.

Tyler Davis pinned Casey Hill of Oskaloosa in the second period of his first round match. Carter Rohweder pinned Davis in the first minute of the semifinal match, and Davis lost on a 6-0 decision in the third-place bout.

Shull pinned Zach VanDonselaar of Pella, in 3:50, for a win in the first round. He lost a tight match to Guy Snow of City West on a 9-5 decision in the semifinal. He then fell to Alex Heisdorffer on a 7-2 decision to end the night in fourth.

Dalton Bass was the Panthers’ lone fifth-place finisher, at 195 lbs. Brayden Ackles (113 lbs.), Garrett Boecker (170 lbs.) and Anthony Carrasco (285 lbs.) each placed sixth.

Tyler Raub (120 lbs.), Jamie Johannes (126 lbs.) and Jaden Davis (145 lbs.) all competed at their respective weights but did not place.

Though Mt. Pleasant won’t have anyone in Des Moines, the Panthers did have a historic year for the program. The MP wrestlers won a school record 15 duals this year, competed in the regional duals tournament and finished the year ranked No. 23 in Class 3A.


Comments (0)
If you wish to comment, please login.