Mt Pleasant News

Wash Journal   Fairfield Ledger
Neighbors Growing Together | Oct 22, 2017

Mt. Pleasant’s Cook picks up another stock car win at 34 Raceway

Aug 06, 2013
Courtesy of: Dana Royer Jason Cook of Mt. Pleasant won the Pepsi IMCA Stock Car feature at 34 Raceway Saturday, Aug. 3.

WEST BURLINGTON — Fans got plenty of racing action with 105 cars ready for competition on Precision Equipment night at 34 Raceway.

Kids were treated to a huge candy dash, courtesy of Sean Wyett Racing and crew, and there were plenty of the thrills of racing.

When the night was completed, all six winners made repeat trips to the victory lane including John Schulz (sprints) of West Burlington; Mitch Morris (modifieds) of Eldridge; Jason Cook (stock cars) of Mt. Pleasant; Tony Dunker (sport mods) of Quincy, Ill.; Austen Becerra (four cylinders) of Carthage, Ill., and Chase Flatt (mod lites) of Monmouth, Ill.

With season championship night nearing on Aug. 24, it’s getting down to the wire for those championship-winning points.

Coming up this week, Saturday, Aug. 10, is Weikert Iron and Metal, Siemens Employee Night and Bobcat of Burlington Night at the races.

The UMP Late Models will return, as well as the Coors Silver Bullet IMCA Modifieds, Weikert Iron and Metals Sport Mods and I Connect You/Louisa Communications Four Cylinders.

A drivers-on-track autograph session will be held for the fans as drivers bring their cars to the front stretch and sign autographs for the fans during intermission. The Brockway Mechanical Sprint Invaders 360 Sprints Night of the Twins then returns on Aug. 17, where fans will see two Sprint Invaders features.

On Saturday at 34 Raceway, Morris picked up his fourth IMCA Modified feature win, topping the 18-car field. Morris took the lead on lap seven and held on for the win. Tyler Glass, Brandon Rothzen and Dustan Fenton round out the top five. With two point races remaining for the modifieds, Morris holds a 24-point lead over Jeff Waterman.

The IMCA Stock Car feature was plagued with yellow flags, but the top two racers were still putting on a show for the fans. Cook and Brett Timmerman exchanged positions in the 18-car, 20-lap feature, but it was Cook who took the final lead of the race on lap 14 and started to pull away, taking the checkered flag in a time-called race for his third win this season. Cook now holds a 25-point lead over Abe Huls.

Flatt took the lead from Collin Ball on lap three and went on to hold off Daniel Keltner in a close finish in the Mod Lite main event. Two point races remain for the Mod Lites with Evan Epperson holding a 15-point lead over Flatt.

There was no stopping John Schulz Saturday night, as he took the win in the W.T. Gabeline and Sons Trucking 305 Sprint, 18-car feature. Shultz would take the lead from Ryan Jamison on lap 10 and pulled away to get his second win this year. With one point race remaining for the 305 Sprints it’s a close battle: Schulz leads with 315, followed by Donnie Steward with 310 and Bergquist with 303.

In sport mods, Dunker picked up his second straight win and third overall at 34 Raceway, topping the 17-car field.

Bobby Anders leads the point race with 378 points followed by Derek St. Clair with 359 and Sean Wyett with 356. Two point races remain for the sport mods.

Becerra picked up his sixth Four Cylinder feature win Saturday night after taking the lead from Jerrod Nichols on lap seven of the 12-lap feature. Wayne Noble passed Nichols on the same lap but could’t catch Becerra. Noble leads the point race with 427 points over John Whalen (415) and Jacob Brown (400) with three point races remaining for the four cylinders.

Comments (0)
If you wish to comment, please login.