Mt Pleasant News

Wash Journal   Fairfield Ledger
Neighbors Growing Together | Nov 23, 2017

Mt. Pleasant wrestlers earn varsity letters, awards

Mar 12, 2013

The Mt. Pleasant wrestling team had its banquet Monday night, honoring the athletes who qualified for state, earned varsity letters, received Southeast Conference awards, and were chosen for team awards.

Colton Aplara was chosen as the varsity’s most valuable wrestler, and Jackson Kelley was chosen as the JV team’s most valuable wrestler.

Emmett Wester finished the season with the most wins (31), and Michael Alderson was recognized for having the most falls (21). Justin Dilks finished the season with the highest number of takedowns (78).

Tyler Lanphier was given the Panther Award.

The state qualifiers were also recognized: Lanphier (120 pounds), Josh Larson (145), Jayton Phillips (170), Dilks (182) and Aplara (220).

Dilks was the team’s only placewinner; he took eighth in his weight class.

Along with team awards, the wrestlers who received conference awards were also recognized.

Four Panthers were named first team all-conference, and three made the second team.

First team selections were Colton Mertens (106 pounds), Phillips (160), Dilks (182) and Aplara (195).

Second team honors went to Lanphier (120), Larson (145) and Wester (285).

There were also four Panthers who earned all-academic honors from the SEC.

To be named to the all-academic team, athletes must be a junior or senior and have a 3.25 GPA.

The Panthers who met the criteria were Larson, Alec Mathews, Dillyn Mumme and Wester.

Larson, Mathews and Rob Pohren were named Mt. Pleasant scholar athletes.

Finally, there were 14 wrestlers and three managers who got varsity letters this year: Mertens, Noah Brown, Connor Eads, Pohren, Blake Wickham, Dilks, Alex Lanphier, Tyler Lanphier, Larson, Wester, Mathews, Alderson, Aplara, Phillips, Hannah Wickham, Kelsey Sourwine and Samantha Lanphier.

Alderson, Aplara and Phillips each finished their careers with four varsity letters.


Comments (0)
If you wish to comment, please login.