Mt Pleasant News

Wash Journal   Fairfield Ledger
Neighbors Growing Together | Jul 18, 2018

Nine area softball players named All-SEISC

Breanna Mettler represents Henry County on all-conference first team
Jul 26, 2017
MPN file photo New London junior Breanna Mettler was the lone Henry County player named to the All-SEISC first team.

By Andy Krutsinger, Mt. Pleasant News


The Southeast Iowa Super Conference released its all-conference softball teams this week and nine Henry County athletes were named to the teams.

New London’s Breanna Mettler was named first team All-SEISC. Four county players were named to the second team and four were honorable mentions.

Mettler hit .320 this season with six home runs and 21 RBIs to earn her spot on the first team as a catcher. Mettler was second on the team with nine doubles and had one triple on the year.

New London junior Carson McSorley made the All-SEISC second team as an outfielder. She hit .373 with 23 runs scored and 12 RBIs. She was 14-15 in stolen base attempts this year to lead the team.

Freshman Layney Loyd represents New London on the second team as an infielder. Loyd led the team with a .394 batting average and 24 runs scored. Loyd hit two home runs, seven doubles and one triple, and was second on the team with 21 RBIs.

Camryn Blint made the second team as a pitcher. She had a 7-3 record this year and led the Tigers with a 3.18 ERA. Blint struck out 68 batters this year. She also hit .319 with 16 RBIs.

W-MU pitcher Madie Anderson was one of just a handful of eighth-graders to be named All-SEISC. She had an 8-10 record, a 2.71 ERA and 142 strikeouts to represent the Wolves on the second team.

New London’s honorable mentions were freshmen Addy Kellen and Sydni Coleman.

Kellen hit .325 this year with 10 RBIs and 14 runs scored. Coleman was 8-8 on the mound with a 4.93 ERA and 68 strikeouts, and also hit .286 with 19 RBIs in the batter’s box.

Seniors Hannah Mathews and Kara Wade were named honorable mentions for W-MU.

Mathews had a team-leading .329 average. She co-led the team with 14 runs and finished the year with 17 RBIs. Wade hit .212 this season with nine RBIs.

The full list of All-SEISC softball players can be found below with the player’s grade in school in parenthesis.

ALL-SEISC FIRST TEAM: Randyn Carter (12), Louisa-Muscatine; Kelsey Hora (12), Highland. Pitchers: Isabelle True (10), Louisa-Muscatine; Megan Hoenig (10), Highland; Eliza Noa (11), Wapello. Catchers: Emma Reid (10), Wapello; Breanna Mettler (11), New London. Infielders: Aly Stokes (10), Highland; Alyssa Pfadenhauer (10), Danville; Makenna Davis (10), West Burlington-Notre Dame; Kaylee Linder (12), Pekin; Addisyn Lolling (11), Wapello. Outfielders: Maddie Mashek (10), Louisa-Muscatine; Sarah Schneider (10), Highland; Jashira Baylark (12), West Burlington-Notre Dame; Samantha Smith (10), Wapello. Utility: Hailey Sanders (9), Louisa-Musactine; Abbie Miller (10), Highland; Bri Eberhardt (12), Mediapolis.

ALL-SEISC SECOND TEAM: Pitchers: Makenna Hall (10), Central Lee; Camryn Blint (11), New London; Madie Williamson (8), Winfield-Mt. Union; Katie Heam (10), Louisa-Muscatine; Lexy Davis (10), West Burlington-Notre Dame. Infield: Katie Koppe (10), Louisa-Muscatine; Ellie Ledger (10), Pekin; Chloe Jacque (1)), Lone Tree; Layney Loyd (9), New London; Abby Kerr (11), Wapello; Olivia Baker (9), West Burlington-Notre Dame. Outfield: Zoey Wright (10), Pekin; Mady Reid (9) Wapello; Ashley Pfadenhauer (10), Danville; Rubye Ney (10), Iowa Mennonite; Carson McSorley (11), New London; Hannah Heiserman (11), Van Buren. Utility: Anna Krehbiel (11), Central Lee; Adessa Brandenburg (8), West Burlington-Notre Dame; Brylee Carolan (11), Highland.

HONORABLE MENTIONS: Rachel Lewman (9), Cardinal; Maddie Cloke (9), Cardinal; Kenzie Krehbiel (12), Central Lee; Daly Brisby (12), Central Lee; Shania Boyd (12), Columbus; Bailey Stroud (12), Columbus; Kelsey Jackson (10), Danville; Evie Williams (12), Danville; Kylie Wood (10), Highland; Lindsay Wilde (12), Highland; Avery Blauvelt (11), Iowa Mennonite; Calli Shaw (12), Iowa Mennonite; Abby Buckman (9), Lone Tree; Kaycee Kane (12), Lone Tree; Kylee Sanders (8), Louisa-Muscatine; Mallory Hohenadel (10), Louisa-Muscatine; Lyndi Vantiger (10), Mediapolis; Maya Johnson (10), Mediapolis; Sydni Coleman (9), New London; Addy Kellen (9), New London; Kennedy Coleman (11), Pekin; Makenna Myers (11), Pekin; Lexi Jirak (9) Van Buren; Salina Sayer (9), Van Buren; Maliree Reid (12), Wapello; Toni Bohlen (8), Wapello; Sydney Marlow (8), West Burlington-Notre Dame; Madlyn Stutsman (9), West Burlington-Notre Dame; Hannah Mathews (12), Winfield-Mt. Union; Kara Wade (12), Winfield-Mt. Union.

SEISC COACH OF THE YEAR: Bryan Butler, Louisa-Muscatine.

Comments (0)
If you wish to comment, please login.