Mt Pleasant News

Wash Journal   Fairfield Ledger
Neighbors Growing Together | Aug 14, 2018

Nine Panthers named All-SEC

Magnani, Huckabone, Lamm and Seberg represent MP on first team
Jul 20, 2018
Photo by: Andy Krutsinger Jordan Magnani was one of four Panthers named to the All-SEC first team.

By Andy Krutsinger, Mt. Pleasant News


The Southeast Conference named its all-conference baseball teams this week and Mt. Pleasant had plenty of honorees. The Panthers had nine players named to the teams including four first-teamers.

Mt. Pleasant had more All-SEC first-teamers than anyone else. Jordan Magnani, Cooper Huckabone, Chase Lamm and Rylan Seberg were all named to the first team.

Magnani made it as a pitcher. The senior threw more innings than any other Panther this season and finished the year with a 3.55 ERA. He also led the team with 48 strikeouts. At the plate, Magnani hit .252 with 15 RBIs.

Cooper Huckabone made it on the team as an infielder. The senior third baseman was the offensive star for Mt. Pleasant, hitting .377 with three homeruns and 40 RBIs this season, all of which led the team.

Lamm, a junior centerfielder, was named to the first-team outfield. Lamm hit .229 this season with a homer and 12 RBIs. He also scored 31 runs on the season.

No Panther scored more runs than sophomore Rylan Seberg, who made it as an outfielder. He hit .345 this season with 23 RBIs. He had a team-leading four triples this year and was 12-12 in stolen bases.

Colby Potts made the second team as a pitcher. Potts finished the year with a 4.20 ERA and 38 strikeouts. He also had a nice year at the plate, hitting .297 with 25 RBIs in his senior season.

Junior middle-infielder Bryce Anderson made the second team in the infield. He hit .300 this year with 16 RBIs. Anderson also sported a 2.97 ERA and struck out 21 batters on the mound.

Zach Beason made it on the second team as a utility player, and it’s an appropriate spot for the Panther junior. On the mound, Beason had a 3.15 ERA with 37 strikeouts. At the plate, he finished the year batting .222 with nine RBIs.

Honorable mentions for Mt. Pleasant were junior catcher Caleb Potts (.206, one homerun, 25 RBIs) and senior outfielder Keegan Rich (.189, five RBIs, 14 stolen bases).

Mt. Pleasant also had eight names on the Academic All-Conference list. All four All-Conference lists can be found below, with the player’s grade in school in parenthesis.

ALL-SEC FIRST TEAM: Pitcher: Graham Kuehl (12), Fairfield; Jordan Magnani (12), Mt. Pleasant; Chase McDole (11), Washington. Catcher: Dalton Boecker (11), Keokuk. Infield: Austin Simpson (11), Fairfield; Cooper Drish (11), Fairfield; Cooper Huckabone (12), Mt. Pleasant; Luke Turner (10), Washington. Outfield: Cade Hennigan (11), Washington (POY); Chase Lamm (11), Mt. Pleasant; Rylan Seberg (10), Mt. Pleasant. DH: Landon Hinckley (12), Washington; Utility: Brady Knutson (10), Washington.

ALL-SEC SECOND TEAM: Pitcher: Cade Lisk (12), Fairfield; Kole Hinrichsen (11), Washington; Colby Potts (12), Mt. Pleasant. Catcher: Kosta Papazaglou (11), Fairfield. Infield: Hunter Hoskins (12), Fairfield; Tristan Waugh (11), Fairfield; Jake Jones (12), Keokuk; Bryce Anderson (11), Mt. Pleasant. Outfield: Brant Stout (11), Washington; Hunter Drish (12), Fairfield; Cole Engle (11), Fairfield. DH: Jimmy Kurka (12), Fairfield. Utility: Zach Beason (11), Mt. Pleasant.

HONORABLE MENTIONS: Noah Stone (11), Fairfield; James Lyman (12), Fairfield; Jordan Gerdes (11), Ft. Madison; Dayne Cordray (11), Ft. Madison; Matt Wyatt (12), Keokuk; Bryce Miller (12), Keokuk; Caleb Potts (12), Mt. Pleasant; Keegan Rich (12), Mt. Pleasant; Jacob Hall (12), Washington.

ACADEMIC ALL-CONFERENCE: Zach Beason (11), Mt. Pleasant; Chase Lamm (11), Mt. Pleasant; Cooper Huckbone (12), Mt. Pleasant; Jordan Magnani (12), Mt. Pleasant; Caleb Potts (12), Mt. Pleasant; Colby Potts (12), Mt. Pleasant; Keegan Rich (12), Mt. Pleasant; Jason Sammons (12), Mt. Pleasant; Brittan Bowman (11), Fairfield; Hunter Drish (12), Fairfield; Hunter Hoskins (12), Fairfield; Evan Huff (11), Fairfield; Caden Jones (11), Fairfield; Klehm Reece (11), Fairfield; Graham Kuehl (12), Fairfield; James Lyman (12), Fairfield; Austin Simpson (11), Fairfield; Jackson Weaton (11), Fairfield; Matt Wyatt (12), Keokuk; Gavin Walker (11), Keokuk; Erik Murphy (12), Washington; Kiowa Keith (12), Washington; Cade Hennigan (11), Washington; Chase McDole (11), Washington.


Comments (0)
If you wish to comment, please login.