Mt Pleasant News

Wash Journal   Fairfield Ledger
Neighbors Growing Together | Aug 14, 2018

NL leads county on All-SEISC lists

Tigers get nine names on South list, W-MU has three named in North
Jul 24, 2018
MPN file photo New London's Keontae Luckett (pictured) made the first team in the SEISC South Division.

By Andy Krutsinger, Mt. Pleasant News


The Southeast Iowa Super Conference has released its all-conference teams for both the North and South Division. Henry County had 12 different athletes named to the teams, five of which were named to the first team.

New London had all five first-teamers and wound up with nine honorees overall. Not surprising for the 2018 South Division champions.

Britt Noel, a senior made the South Division first team as a pitcher. Noel went 6-2 this year with a 1.35 ERA and 46 strikeouts. At the plate, Noel hit .338 with 11 RBIs.

Sam Loyd, a senior was named to the South Division first team in the catcher spot. Loyd hit .429 this season with a team-leading 19 RBIs. On the mound, Loyd went 1.08 with 25 strikeouts.

Junior shortstop Isaac McSorley made the first team infield. McSorley hit .381 this year with four homeruns, 14 RBIs and a team-leading 24 stolen bases. Like Loyd and Noel, McSorley also made waves on the mound, going 8-0 with a 1.85 ERA and 40 strikeouts.

Keontae Luckett, an outfielder, made the South Division list as an outfielder. Luckett hit .351 with 11 RBIs, and was second on the team with 23 stolen bases.

Juniro Shae Summerfield was the final New London first-teamer. He made the list as a utility player. Summerfield hit .294 this season with 17 RBIs.

Second-teamers for New London were junior infielder Mason Porter and junior utility player Darius Whaley. Porter hit .263 with 15 RBIs and Whaley hit .314 with .314 RBIs.

Each team gets two honorable mentions. New London’s honorable mentions were senior Javis Krieger (.267, eight RBIs) and eighth-grader Cooper Schulte (.280, three RBIs).

Winfield-Mt. Union’s lone second-teamer was freshman outfielder Brody Barton. Barton hit .327 this year with three RBIs to represent the area in the North Division.

Junior Bryant Holtkamp and sophomore Christian Gerot were named to the North Division honorable mention list. Holtkamp hit .218 with a team-leading nine RBIs. Gerot hit .216 with an RBI.

The full lists for both the North Division and South Division teams can be found below.

NORTH DIVISION FIRST TEAM: Pitcher: Skyler Juhl, Pekin; Brennan Breuer, Mediapolis. Catcher: Karson Cantrell, Louisa-Muscatine; Levi Eberhandt, Mediapolis. Infield: Cole Ours, IMS; Tanner Bainbridge, Pekin; Brody Burton, Highland; Cuay Massner, Mediapolis; Alex Diewold, Mediapolis. Outfield: Tyler Carter, Louisa-Muscatine; Brady Dauber, Louisa-Muscatine; Keaton Baayen, Pekin; Zach Osborne, Mediapolis. Utility: Abel Mena, Columbus; Avery Knock, Lone Tree; Trace Howard, Wapello.

NORTH DIVISION SECOND TEAM: Pitcher: Logan Belzer, Wapello; Mason McCulley, Louisa-Muscatine; Blake Bontrager, Iowa Mennonite. Catcher: Isaiah Swantz, Iowa Mennonite; Quinn Ledger, Pekin; Gage Witte, Wapelo. Infield: Torell Washington, Pekin; Sam Short, Wapello; Chase Kruse, Louisa-Muscatine; Eli Ours, Iowa Mennonite; Luke Miller, Highland; Ben Wolgemuth, Mediapolis. Outfield: Robert Yoder, Highland; Zach Bieri, Louisa-Muscatine; Caleb Comstock, Pekin; Brody Barton, Winfield-Mt. Union. Utility: Cody Hassinen, Pekin; Tommy Pretz, Columbus; Trey Lasek, Highland.

NORTH DIVISION HONORABLE MENTION: Caleb McCullough, Columbus; Evan Rees, Columbus; Jackson Soy, Louisa-Muscatine; Keatyn Velez, Louisa-Muscatine; Keegan Edwards, Lone Tree; Dakota Smith, Lone Tree; Trevor Leyden, Iowa Mennonite; Reggie Borntrager, Iowa Mennonite; Ryan Stansberry, Pekin; Connor Reed, Pekin; Bryant Holtkamp, Winfield-Mt. Union; Christian Gerot, Winfield-Mt. Union; Bill Laughlin, Highland; Chase Schultz, Highland; Drayven Fenton, Mediapolis; Nick Ensminger, Mediapolis; Joseph Stewart, Wapello; Bryce Burmeister, Wapello.

SOUTH DIVISION FIRST TEAM: Pitcher: Evan Doyle, Central Lee; Wyatt Gatton, Cardinal; Britt Noel, New London. Catcher: Sam Loyd, New London; Dreyton Laveine, West Burlington. Infield: Isaac McSorley, New London; Brice Mennen, West Burlington; Jacob Plecker, Van Buren; Tommy Laughlin, Van Buren; Reed Feheske, Holy Trinity. Outfield: Keontae Luckett, New London; Daniel Crooks, West Burlington; Tyler Hopp, Central Lee; Brycen Starnes, Van Buren; Mitchell Brent, Notre Dame. Utility: Nicholas Skerik, Notre Dame; Jake Fraise, Central Lee; Shae Sumerfield, New London.

SOUTH DIVISION SECOND TEAM: Pitcher: Isaiah Blain, Danville; Jaxon Thomas, Van Buren. Catcher: Collin Thornton, Holy Trinity; Trey Albert, Cardinal; Trenton Blythe, Notre Dame. Infield: Drew Chiprez, Notre Dame; Griffin Mole, Danville; Mason Porter, New London; Aaron Wills, Central Lee; Colten Hohenthaner, West Burlington; Jason Therman, Holy Trinity; Cade Chance, Cardinal. Outfield: Tyler Dameron, West Burlington; Jared Bristy, Central Lee; Mason McDonough, Van Buren; Quentin Schneider, Holy Trinity. Utility: Darius Whaley, New London; Cody Welch, Danville; Waylon Weirather, Central Lee; Brady Oleson, Notre Dame.

HONORABLE MENTION: Javis Krieger, New London; Cooper Schulte, New London; Reid Yaley, Danville; Drake Smith, Danville; Caleb Stoltz, Van Buren; Greg Wenke, Van Buren; Sam Hirner, Central Lee; Luke Simmons, Central Lee; Masin Shullaw, West Burlington; Jacob Fritz, West Burlington; Kyle Bredemeyer, Holy Trinity; Vasin Thurman, Holy Trinity; Mason Aschenbrenner, Cardinal; Cameron Honomichl, Cardinal; Lucas Anderson, Notre Dame; Ryle Koenig, Notre Dame.

Comments (0)
If you wish to comment, please login.