Mt Pleasant News

Wash Journal   Fairfield Ledger
Neighbors Growing Together | Oct 23, 2017

No. 22 MP wrestlers take down Mediapolis

Jan 06, 2017
Photo by: Andy Krutsinger Tyler Davis holds on to Mediapolis' Levi Eberhardt during the 170 lbs. match.


Mt. Pleasant News

Another night, another win for the No. 22 Mt. Pleasant wrestling team.

The Panthers had their third home dual of the season on Thursday night. Four pins and a couple of close wins by decision helped the Panthers to their 13th dual win of the season, 42-33.

The Panthers started things off with a forfeit win at 106 lbs., and a 5-4 decision for Corbin Broeker at 113 lbs. The Bulldogs won the next four matches, however, to take a 21-9 lead.

Nate Wallace took care of his man with a pin at 145 lbs. James DeMeyer wrestled a tight match at 152 lbs., but broke a 1-1 tie with a final minute takedown to win, 3-1.

“He finally opened up there late in the period,” Coach Anthony Blint said about DeMeyer. “He likes to keep the matches close, but he’s doing a good job.”

The Panthers tightened the meet to 21-18 at that point but a Bulldog pin at 160 lbs., made it 27-18.

The Panthers buckled down, though, and won the next four matches. Tyler Davis, Zach Beason and Dalton Shull all got pins at 170 lbs., 182 lbs. and 220 lbs. respectively, and the Panthers got a forfeit win at 195 lbs.

Mediapolis was able to take the heavyweight match by pinfall, but the Panthers had already locked up the win.

“Anytime you can beat Mediapolis, a powerhouse known for wrestling, it’s great,” Blint said after the dual. “We hadn’t beaten them for several years so it’s always great to get a win like that.”

Full results of the dual can be found below with the Mt. Pleasant wrestler listed first.

Mt. Pleasant 42 vs. Mediapolis 33: 106: Brayden Ackles wins by forfeit. 113: Corbin Broeker dec. Jordan Riherd 5-4. 120: Tyler Raub pinned by Cuay Massner (1:04). 126: Jamie Johannes pinned by Drayven Fenton (1:37). 132: Avante Henley loses by technical fall to Zach Osborne (21-6, 4:32). 138: Mai Hoang loses by major dec. to Reese Thornburg (9-1). 145: Nate Wallace pins Hunter Aney (1:00). 152: James DeMeyer dec. Remmington Benz (3-1). 160: Jeff Taylor pinned by Brennan Swafford (1:13). 170: Tyler Davis pins Levi Eberhardt (1:14). 182: Zach Beason pins Keegan Akers (2:37). 195: Dalton Bass wins by forfeit. 220: Dalton Shull pins Riley Silva (1:19). 285: Anthony Carrasco pinned by Brennan Breuer (5:15).

Mt. Pleasant moved to 13-1 with the win. They will be at Washington on Thursday, Jan. 12, for their next dual. That will start at 6:30 p.m.


Comments (0)
If you wish to comment, please login.