Mt Pleasant News

Wash Journal   Fairfield Ledger
Neighbors Growing Together | Sep 21, 2018

Panther XC teams win again

Sep 27, 2017

By Andy Krutsinger, Mt. Pleasant News


WASHINGTON — The Mt. Pleasant cross country teams continued to h a strangle-hold on the Southeast Conference on Tuesday evening, once again topping their SEC foes, this time at Washington.

The boys’ team had three top-10 finishes to win the team meet with 37 points, 22 ahead of second-place Fairfield. The girls had four make the top 10 to score 37 points, allowing them to win by 15 over second-place Ft. Madison.

Cody Mertens picked up yet another win on the boys’ side, cruising to first place by 30 seconds. He finished in 17:33.89, well ahead of Ft. Madison’s Aaron Steffensmeier in second.

Kyle Vanderham gave the Panthers another top-three finish with a third-place time of 18:11.42. Dalton Moyle cracked the top 10 with an eighth-place time of 19:10.15.

Drake Snavely (19:26.46) and Cade Warner (19:27.03) finished 12th and 13th respectively. Alec Gardner finished 18th in 19:39.95. Dakota Triska placed 27th in 20:14.78. Joey Holtkamp was 31st in 20:53.52, and Thad Brooks finished 47th in 22:24.11.

The girls were led by Abby Ryon, who finished second individually in 20:37.22. Fairfield’s Ashley Bloomquist was able to top the field in 20:25.25.

Taylor Murray, Cristina Carthey and Kendall Dascher all made the top 10 as well. Murray was fifth in 22:06.76. Carthey crossed seventh in 23:10.63, and Dascher went ninth in 23:26.51.

Claire Holtkamp placed 14th in 23:49.62. Delaney McDowell was 16th in 24:09.20. Liz Perry placed 18th in 24:24.45. Anna Otsby was 40th in 27:03.96. Evelyn Nygren placed 56th in 31:43.29, and Francis Bittle was 59th, in 34:15.60.

Both the Panther girls and boys will be looking closely at the team rankings presented by Both Panther teams sit just outside the top-15 in the “teams to watch” section. Mertens is ranked fourth individually to lead all Panther runners.

The Panthers will be at Iowa Mennonite for their next meet. That will be on Monday, Oct. 2, at 4 p.m.

Comments (0)
If you wish to comment, please login.