Mt Pleasant News

Wash Journal   Fairfield Ledger
Neighbors Growing Together | Aug 21, 2018

Panthers fall short of SEC title

Mt. Pleasant wrestlers drop home dual to rival Washington
Jan 24, 2018
Photo by: Andy Krutsinger Tyler Raub takes on Joey Labelle in a thrilling match at 126 lbs.

By Andy Krutsinger, Mt. Pleasant News


The final two unbeaten teams in Southeast Conference wrestling met in Mt. Pleasant on Tuesday night to decide the SEC championship. Unfortunately for Panther fans, just about every toss-up match was won by Washington en route to a 45-23 Demon victory.

The night started with a couple of pin falls for each team. Washington’s Walker Ikerd kicked things off with a pin late in the first period at 120 lbs. Tyler Raub helped the Panthers tie the game at 126 lbs. He turned Washington’s Joey Labelle for a pin with just 10 seconds remaining in the match and it was 6-6.

That was the last Panther win for a long while as Washington strung together eight-straight wins from 132 lbs. to 195 lbs. to break open the dual.

Dillan Sanders picked up a pin in the third period at 132 lbs. Garrett Ikert followed with a 2-0 win at 138 lbs., scoring on an illegal hold by Abe Wilson and a late escape.

David Hora followed Sanders with a pin in the second period at 3:45 lbs. Cade Pohren had a late takedown to pull away, 4-1, over Jaden Davis at 152 lbs. Kiowa Keith took the 160 lbs. match on a 10-4 decision over Garrett Boecker. Tristin Wesphal-Edwards won at 170 lbs. with a 5-0 decision over James DeMeyer. Collin Murphy pinned Brennen Bender in 39 seconds at 182 lbs., and Tanner Murphy scored on a late reversal to steal the 195 lbs. match from Zach Beason.

Washington led 39-6 going into the 220 lbs. match. Mt. Pleasant’s Dalton Bass won by forfeit to break the Demon streak. Mitchell Huisenga gave Washington six more points, however, with a 27-second pin at 285 lbs.

The Panthers did end the night with a couple of positives. Corbin Broeker topped Washington’s Matt Collett with a technical fall at 106 lbs. and Brayden Ackles finished the meet with a pin, in 3:15, at 113 lbs.

“There were a lot of close matches there,” Panther coach Anthony Blint said when the meet was over. The difference was finishing a shot, not finishing a shot, giving up an escape late in the match or giving up a takedown late in the match. (It was) definitely a learning experience for the kids.”

It was also the last home dual for a trio of Panther seniors; Boecker, Bass and Dalton Smith. Boecker and Bass were both in the varsity lineup, though Bass didn’t have to wrestle because of the forfeit.

“Dalton and Garrett both have been great assets,” Blint said bout his two varsity seniors. “Garrett is always in there working hard. Things don’t always work out in his favor but he’s never ever outworked. Dalton (is a) great kid, gets in a lot of weird situations at times and comes out 90 percent of the time in the top position. It’s always pretty exciting to watch him out there on the mat.”

Washington finished the SEC schedule at 4-0 to take the conference championship. Mt. Pleasant will finish second with a 3-1 record.

Full results from Tuesday night’s meet can be found below.

Washington 45 vs. Mt. Pleasant 23: 120: Walker Ikerd (Wash) pins Conner Coleman (MP), (1:38). 126: Tyler Raub (MP) pins Joey Labelle (Wash), (5:50). 132: Dillan Sanderson (Wash) pins Dalton Moyle (MP), (4:28). 138: Garrett Ikerd (Wash) dec. Abe Wilson (MP), (2-0). 145: David Hora (Wash) pins Nate Wallace (MP), (3:45). 152: Cade Pohren (Wash) dec. Jaden Davis (MP), (4-1). 160: Kiowa Keith (Wash) dec. Garrett Boecker (MP), (10-4). 170: Tristin Westphal-Edwards (Wash) pins James DeMeyer (MP), (5-0). 182: Collin Murphy (Wash) pins Brennen Bender), (0:39). 195: Tanner Murphy (Wash) dec. Zach Beason (MP), (2-1). 220: Dalton Bass (MP) wins by forfeit. 285: Mitchell Huisenga (Wash) pins Henry Lutovsky (MP), (0:27). 106: Corbin Broeker (MP) wins via technical fall over Matt Collett (Wash), (20-5, 4:39). 113: Brayden Ackles (MP) pins Brennan Murphy (Wash), (3:15).

Comments (0)
If you wish to comment, please login.