Mt Pleasant News

Wash Journal   Fairfield Ledger
Neighbors Growing Together | Sep 25, 2018

Panthers, Go-Hawks get set for battle

Mt. Pleasant’s speed, Waverly-Shell Rock’s size will be on display Tuesday
Mar 05, 2018
MPN file photo Nik Coble (pictured) led WACO in points, rebounds and blocked shots to earn a first-team spot on the South Division team.

By Andy Krutsinger, Mt. Pleasant News


The Southeastern Iowa Super Conference released its All-Conference teams for boys’ basketball last week. Henry County had 13 names on the list, earning three first team spots, four second team spots and six honorable mentions.

New London led the way with six names, two of which were on the SEISC South Division first team. Junior guards Isaac McSorley and Keontae Luckett were honored with a first team nomination.

The two juniors led New London in scoring this season. McSorley scored 16.4 points per game to lead the way, and Luckett scored 14.1 points per game. McSorley led the Tigers with 97 steals and Luckett had 141 assists to lead the squad.

The two Tiger juniors were joined by WACO sophomore Nik Coble. Coble scored 10.6 points per game to lead a very balanced WACO team offensively.

Coble was also extremely active defensively. He swatted away a team-leading 54 shots this sesason and pulled down 261 rebounds, both of which led WACO.

New London had two second-teamers. Sophomore Grant Swanson (14.1 ppg, 113 rebounds) and senior Alex Dentlinger (13.2 points per game) were both named to the South Division second team.

WACO junior Colton Horak (7 ppg, 109 assists) was named to the second team in the South Division. Winfield-Mt. Union senior B.J. Rodgers (14.3 ppg, 33 steals) made the second team in the North Division.

Each of the three squads had two players named to the honorable mentions list. New London’s Koby McBeth and Jalen Birdsell made the list, as did WACO’s Drew Kissell and Calvin Battle, and W-MU’s Cody McCreight and Mitchell Niebuhr.

Wapello’s Trenton Massner was named Player of the Year in the North Division. Ken Spielbauer, the Wapello head coach, was named coach of the year. Central Lee’s Evan Doyle took home the POY honor in the South Division. Notre Dame’s Dan Kies was named South Division Coach of the Year.

Listed below is the full list of players, with the athlete’s grade in school listed in parenthesis.

SEISC NORTH DIVISION FIRST TEAM: Brady Walker (12), Louisa-Muscatine; Zack Lasek (10), Highland; Trenton Massner (12), Wapello (POY); Keaton Mitchell (11), Wapello; Logan Belzer (12), Wapello; Cole Ours (12), Wapello; Mitchell Schmeider (12), Iowa Mennonite; Cameron Millikin (11), Pekin; Brock Smith (12), Lone Tree.

SEISC NORTH DIVISION SECOND TEAM: Gage Witte (12), Wapello; Reggie Borntrager (12), Iowa Mennonite; Zach Bieri (12), Louisa-Muscatine; Ben Wolgemuch (11), Mediapolis; B.J. Rodgers (12), Winfield-Mt. Union; Trey Lasek (11), Highland; Keegan Edwards (10), Lone Tree; Tommy Pretz (12), Columbus; Eli Ours (9), Iowa Mennonite.

SEISC NORTH DIVISION HONORABLE MENTION: Sam Short (12), Wapello; Trever Leyden (11), Iowa Mennonite; Caleb Gingerich (11), Iowa Mennonite; Mason McFarland (10), Highland; Brody Burton (11), Highland; Caleb Comstock (11), Pekin; Chandler Eckley (12), Pekin; Dawson Munday (12), Louisa-Muscatine; Brandon Burmeister (12), Louisa-Muscatine; Austin Marshek (11), Brady Dauber (10), Lone Tree; Brady Pfeiff (12), Mediapolis; Will Schroeder (12), Mediapolis; Cody McCreight (12), Winfield-Mt. Union; Mitchell Niebuhr (12), Winfield-Mt. Union; Abel Medina (12), Columbus Community; Eric Valdez (10), Columbus Community.

SEISC SOUTH DIVISION FIRST TEAM: Evan Doyle (12), Central Lee (POY); Ryle Koenig (11), Notre Dame; Isaac McSorley (11), New London; Keontae Luckett (11), New London; Tanner Snodgrass (11), West Burlington; Max Wilcox (11), Danville; Jeff Tjaden (12), Notre Dame; Jaeden Gerig (12), Van Buren; Isaac Moeller (12), Central Lee; Nik Coble (10), WACO.

SEISC SOUTH DIVISION SECOND TEAM: Jake Fraise (12), Central Lee; Jonah Marlow (11), West Burlington; Gavin Kies (11), Notre Dame; Taylor Kensett (10), Danville; Alex Dentlinger (12), New London; Grant Swanson (10), New London; Colton Hohenthaner (12), West Burlington; Bryce Carr (11), Danville; Caleb Johnson (11), Van Buren; Colton Horak (11), WACO.

SEISC HONORABLE MENTION: Jason Osborn (12), Notre Dame; Mitchell Brent (10), Notre Dame; Jared Brisby (12), Central Lee; Lane Campbell (12), Central Lee; Landen Greer (12), West Burlington; Dayton Johnson (12), West Burlington; Koby McBeth (12), New London; Jalen Birdsell (11), New London; Hunter Perkins (11), Danville; Tristan Miller (11), Danville; Mason McDonough (11) Van Buren; Brycen Starnes (11), Van Buren; Drew Kissell (10), WACO; Calvin Battle (12), WACO; Matt Hellige (10), Holy Trinity; Reed Fehseke (10), Holy Trinity; Grant Clark (12), Cardinal; Wyatt Gatton (12), Cardinal.


Comments (0)
If you wish to comment, please login.