Mt Pleasant News

Wash Journal   Fairfield Ledger
Neighbors Growing Together | Aug 18, 2018

Seven county softball players named All-State

Mt. Pleasant’s Chi Glaha, New London’s Layney Loyd make first team
Jul 26, 2018
MPN file photo Mt. Pleasant's Chi Glaha (pictured) made the first team in Class 4A.

By Andy Krutsinger, Mt. Pleasant News


The Iowa Girls’ Coaches Association released their all-state teams this week and a handful of Henry County players made the cut. Seven players from the county made the list with two hitting the first team.

Mt. Pleasant had just one representative this year but it was a big one as Chi Glaha landed herself on the Class 4A first team.

Glaha, a senior, led the Panthers at the plate with a .558 average, hitting six doubles and six triples on the year with 20 RBIs. Glaha was also a menace on the bases, stealing 33 bags in 36 attempts.

The county’s other first-teamer was Layney Loyd, who made the first team in Class 1A. The Tiger sophomore was the leading hitter on the state-bound New London squad, hitting .473 with eight doubles, two homeruns and 30 RBIs.

Fellow Tiger Camryn Blint made the second team. The New London senior hit .352 with four doubles and 14 RBIs. Blint was the top Tiger pitcher in the circle, going 10-4 with a 3.17 ERA and 102 strikeouts.

Winfield-Mt. Union freshman Madie Anderson made the third team in Class 1A. The Wolves’ ace pitcher was phenominal in the circle, going 11-8 with a 1.90 ERA and 249 strikeouts. Anderson was no slouch at the plate either, hitting .299 with 10 RBIs.

New London had three players make the honorable mention list in Class 1A, giving them five all-staters overall. Seniors Carson McSorley and Breanna Mettler made the team, as did sophomore Sydni Coleman.

McSorley hit .357 from the leadoff spot this year, hitting six doubles and one triple, and bringing in 10 RBIs. She also led the team with 16 stolen bases in 16 attempts.

Mettler hit .287 this year with eight doubles, two homeruns and 31 RBIs. Her eight doubles co-led the team and her RBI total was tops for New London.

Coleman got it done with both the bat and her arm. At the plate, she hit .446 with six doubles, one triple and 17 RBIs. In the circle, she went 7-6 with a 4.17 ERA and 37 strikeouts.

Listed below is the full All-State list for both Class 4A and Class 1A, along with the county’s honorable mentions. The player’s grade in school will follow their name.

CLASS 4A FIRST TEAM: Mackenzie Hupke (11), Independence; Samantha Heyer (11), Charles City; Olivia Brecht (12), Center Point-Urbana; Emily Valtman (11), Newton; Hannah Blackford (12), Des Moines Hoover; Abbie Hlas (10), ADM; Delaney Schnathorst (10), Carlisle; Maddie Haines (9), Oskaloosa; Alyvia Dubois (11), Carlisle; Danny Barker (12), Winterset; Ashley Tennant (12), ADM; Alyx Witt (12), Norwalk; Josie Bunnell (12), Oskaloosa; Sydney Nielsen (11), Marion; Chi Glaha (12), Mt. Pleasant; Sarah Heilesen (11), Denison-Schelswig; Madelyn Morgensen (11), Sergeant Bluff-Luton; Lisabeth Fiser (10), Charles City; Abby Nolte (11), Des Moines Hoover; Amber Fistler (12), Dallas Center-Grimes.

CLASS 4A SECOND TEAM: Ashtyn Miller (12), Lewis Central; Abby Moller (11), North Scott; Tayler Schmidt (12), Charles City; Regan Schutte (10), Center Point-Urbana; Peyton Maher (11) Newton; Molly Hoekstra (10), Carlisle; Michaela Davis (12), Keokuk; Megan Doty (11), Grinnell; Charlotte Richards (12), Cedar Rapids Xavier; Alex Mohr (11), Denison-Schleswig; Abby Husak (10), Ballard; Keera Ball (11), Cedar Rapids Xavier; Sophie Stover (12), Winterset; Lydia Butters (12), Independence; Haley Flaws (12), Webster City; Caitlynne Shadle (12), Boone; Brylee Klosterman (10), Iowa City Liberty; Morgan Schaben (11), Harlan; Briley Sodergren (11), Norwalk; Kellie Dallmeyer (9), Washington.

CLASS 4A THIRD TEAM: Maddie Karr (12), Center Point-Urbana; Kamryn Bailey (12), Ft. Madison; Josie Shudak (12), Lewis Central; Johanna Diw (12), Perry; Jalynn Wood (11), Keokuk; Emery Neer (11), Knoxville; McKenzie Rosenboom (12), Central DeWitt; Ella Link (10), Epwarth Western Dubuque; Ashtyn Drish (12), Fairfield; Aubrey Wolfe (11), Bishop Heelan; Sydney Carroll (12), Bondurant-Farrar; Skylar Cole (10), Storm Lake; Kinzi Van Wyk (12), Pella; Hannah Horsfield (12), Epworth Western Dubuque; Molly McNally (11), Waverly-Shell Rock; Maria Steffen (12), Cedar Rapids Xavier; Mackenzie Brown (11), Newton; Josie Stocks (10), Waterloo East; Isabell Hobbs (10), Ballard; Chloe Gallegos (9), Carroll.

COACH OF THE YEAR: Melissa Feuerbach, Des Moines Hoover.

Class 1A FIRST TEAM: Taryan Barrick (11), AGWSR; Brynn VanEldik (12), Akron-Westfield; Kelsey Lint (11), BGM Brooklyn; Kori Wedeking (10), Clarksville; Mikayla Houge (10), Collins-Maxwell; Alexis Houge (8), Collins-Maxwell; Jade Hays (12), Coon Rapids-Bayard; Sophie Peppers (12), Exira-EHK; Talia Schon (10), Glidden Ralston; Kendra Cooper (12), Kee Lansing; Chloe Severson (12), Kee Lansing; Bradi Harvey (12), Kingsley-Pierson; T.J. Stoaks (9), Lenox; Skylar Sadler (11), Lisbon; Kaitln Schad (12), Martensdale-St. Marys; Emma McDanel (12), Moravia; Breianna Klein (12), Murray; Layney Loyd (10), New London; Lily Castle (10), Newman Catholic; Olivia Larsen (10), Sidney; Autumn Barthelman (12), Sigourney; Haylee Fortune (12), Wayne; Lexi Lander (10), West Monona; Payge Ronfeldt (12), Woodbury Central.

CLASS 1A SECOND TEAM: Danika Smith (12), Akron-Westfield; Gigi Byrkeland (12), Bishop Garrigan; Kaylie Wilhelm (10), Calamus-Wheatland; Leeah Weber (10), Central City; Cheyenne Behrends (9), Clarksville; Katelyn Winnett (11), Coon Rapids-Bayard; Hannah Whitver (10), Glidden Ralson; Lily Liekweg (11), Janesville; Nicki Wood (12), Kee Lansing; Maddie Morningstar (12), Lisbon; Hannah Sweet (11), Martensdale-St. Marys; Emillie Krpan (11), Melcher-Dallas; Kayla Wookey (11), Murray; Camryn Blint (12), New London; Ella Larsen (9), Newell-Fonda; Nicole Heeran (12), North Butler; Emma Deucore (11), North Mahska; Kate Anderson (12), North Union; Camryn McClintock (11), Signey; Madison Schauf (12), Sigourney; Jocy Timmerman (10), Ft. Ddoge St. Edmond; Sterling Berndt (8), Wayne; Cassidy Hatcher (12), West Harrison; Andee Martin (11), Westwood Sloan.

CLASS 1A THIRD TEAM: Makenna Kuper (9), AGWSR; Shaylee Dodd (11), Belle Plaine; Samantha Pewe (12), Calamus-Wheatland; Katie Camp (12), Collins-Maxwell; Kealey Nelson (12), Exira-EHK; Avery Schlabach (12), Glidden Ralston; Emma Seyler (12), Grand View Christian; Hannah Boucher (12), Griswold; Jessica Anderson (12), Lenox; Sam Schrantz (11); Lisbon; Chloe Jacque (11), Lone Tree; Mallory Loftus (10), Lynville-Sully; Jessica Self (11), Moravia; Kelli Romero (11), Murray; Olivia Larsen (11), Newell-Fonda; Macy Alexander (11), Newman Catholic; Paige Leininger (10), Newman Catholic; Bre Anderson (12), North Union; Marrisa Norby (12), Rockford; Ali Enright (12), Seymour; Rylee Menster (12), Springville; Veda Pick (12), St. Mary’s Remsen; Katelyn Martian (11), Westwood Sloan; Madie Anderson (9), Winfield-Mt. Union; Brooke Bauer (12), Woodbury Central.

HENRY COUNTY HONORABLE MENTIONS: Carson McSorley (12), New London; Sydni Coleman (10), New London; Breanna Mettler (12), New London.

CLASS 1A COACH OF THE YEAR: Troy Houge, Collins-Maxwell.

Comments (0)
If you wish to comment, please login.