Mt Pleasant News

Wash Journal   Fairfield Ledger
Neighbors Growing Together | Nov 21, 2017

Six drivers claim victory on June 22 at 34 Raceway

Drivers will be back on the track Saturday, June 29, and Wednesday, July 3
Jun 25, 2013
Photo by: Dana Royer Ryan Jamison of Mediapolis, right, received an early birthday present when he won the 305 Sprint feature at 34 Raceway on June 22. His birthday was June 23. Presenting the plaque is track owner Jeff Laue.

WEST BURLINGTON — When Saturday night’s racing was completed at 34 Raceway, six drivers went home with winners checks and a trophy: Ryan Jamison, Mediapolis (305 sprints); Dean McGee, Galesburg, Ill. (modifieds); John Oliver, Jr., Danville (stock cars); Bobby Anders, Quincy, Ill. (sport mods); Evan Epperson, Muscatine (mod lites); and Austen Becerra, Carthage, Ill. (four-cylinders).

The first feature of the night was a wild finish bringing the fans to their feet when Bobby Anders, Creston Williams, Sean Wyett and Derek St. Clair crossed the finish line four wide, with Anders edging out the win.

Coming off a win on Friday night, Evan Epperson would get win number two for the weekend when he pulled away from the field late in the race to take the checkered flag in the fifteen lap feature.

The Pepsi IMCS Stock Car feature was another thriller with John Oliver, Jr., Danville, getting his third straight win in a come-from-behind victory.

The last time Dean McGee won a feature at 34 Raceway was in 2007. So a win Saturday night in the Coors Silver Bullett IMCA Modified feature was a thrill for his family, fans and crew.

A field of nineteen four-cylinders took to the track with Jacob Brown and Roy Norton on the front row. By the end of the first lap, Dustin Ravelin had taken over the lead spot with Austen Becerra not far behind.

Becerra then passed Ravelin on lap three and went on to take the checkered flag despite a last lap caution which set up a green, white, checkered finish.

The 305 Sprints capped off the evening with Ryan Jamison picking up the win, a nice birthday present for the Mediapolis driver whose birthday was the next day.

Harold Pohren led the nineteen-car field for the first nine laps before Donnie Steward took over the lead on lap ten. Steward led the the next three laps before Jamison took the lead for good with seven laps to go.

A crash into the wall by Brady Bennett brought out the red flag on lap nineteen and set up a green, white, checkered finish.

Coming up this week, Saturday, June 29, will be Pritchard Broadcasting/KQ92, Country 103 and Hot 97 night at the races.

W.T. Gabeline and Sons Trucking 305 Sprints, Coors Silver Bullet IMCA Modifieds, Pepsi IMCA Stock Cars, Weikert Iron and Metals IMCA Sport Mods, Mod Lites and I Connect You/Louisa Communications 4 Cylinders will all be in action.

Then, on Wednesday, July 3, will be the Brockway Mechanical Sprint Invaders 360 Sprints, Mod Lites, 4 Cylinders and Vintage Cars.

Shoot for the Stars 360 Sprint format will include pit stop and fan interaction mid Sprint Invaders feature race. After the races will be a fireworks display to help celebrate Independence Day.


Comments (0)
If you wish to comment, please login.