Mt Pleasant News

Wash Journal   Fairfield Ledger
Neighbors Growing Together | Jun 19, 2018

Six Tigers, Benedict named All-SEISC

Jul 25, 2017
Photo by: Andy Krutsinger New London's Reno Chiri (pictured) was named to the All-SEISC first team.

By Andy Krutsinger, Mt. Pleasant News


The Southeast Iowa Super Conference released its all-conference baseball teams last week and Henry County was honored with seven selections.

Six players from New London and one from Winfield-Mt. Union were named to the teams. Four Tigers were named to the first team, two were named to the second team and one W-MU name was found on the second team.

Reno Chiri was named to the first team as a catcher in his senior year. Chiri batted .313 on the year with three doubles, one triple and 18 RBIs. He was also 5-2 on the mound with a 2.00 ERA. Chiri held opposing batters to a .176 batting average and struck out 38.

Justin Henecke, another Tiger senior, was named to the first team as an infielder. Henecke hit .452 this season with 10 doubles, a home run and 18 RBIs. He also drew 18 walks, which was tops on the team. On the mound, Henecke was 5-0 with a 1.72 ERA and 53 strikeouts. He held opposing batters to a .186 average.

Junior outfielder Britt Noel also represented New London on the first team. He led the team with a .453 average, two home runs and 25 RBIs. Noel was 16-20 in stolen bases. On the mound, Noel went 6-0 with a 0.61 ERA. He struck out 36 batters and held opponents to a .119 batting average.

Also making the first team for New London was sophomore infielder Isaac McSorley, who was named to the team as a utility player. McSorley hit .443 on the season with a team-leading eight triples and 36 runs scored. He had one home run on the year and was 20-20 in stolen bases. On the mound, McSorley went 2-1 with a 2.28 ERA and 20 strikeouts, holding opponents to a .208 batting average.

Making the second team for New London were sophomore infielder Sam Loyd and senior outfielder Blake Nehring.

Loyd hit .364 on the year with 13 RBIs and 15 runs scored. He was 1-2 on the mound with a 2.01 ERA and 17 strikeouts, holding opponents to a .223 batting average.

Nehring hit .338 with one triple and 15 RBIs. He was 13-14 in stolen base attempts. Nehring pitched only three innings this season but held opponents to a .118 batting average. His final ERA was 4.67, and he struck out two batters on the season.

Representing W-MU on the second team was Kleyton Benedict, a senior outfielder. Benedict hit .377 this season with 10 runs scored and eight RBIs. He went 10-12 in stolen base attempts. Benedict finished 1-7 on the mound for the Wolves with a 3.80 ERA and 67 strikeouts. He held opponents to a .217 batting average.

The full All-SEISC baseball teams can be found below with the player’s grade in school in parenthesis.

FIRST TEAM ALL-SEISC: Player of the Year: Chase Rath (12), Highland. Pitchers: Garrett Greiner (12), Pekin; Logan Belzer (11), Wapello; Ross Swinton (12), Lone Tree. Catchers: Reno Chiri (12), New London; Trenton Blythe (9), Notre Dame; Infielders: Bill Burton (12), Highland; Justin Henecke (12), New London; Austin Leopard (12), Louisa-Muscatine; Rick Galle (12), Central Lee; Tim Diewold (12), Mediapolis. Outfielders: Britt Noel (11), New London; Matt Meeker (12), Notre Dame; Trace Howard (11), Wapello; Jovonte Squiers (12), Lone Tree. Utility: Isaac McSorley (10), New London; Garrett Colbert (12), Highland; Drake Brezina (12), Iowa Mennonite.

SECOND TEAM ALL-SEISC: Pitchers: Brody Burton (10), Highland; Lowden Gabriel (12), Louisa-Muscatine; Evan Doyle (11), Central Lee. Catchers: Levi Eberhardt (11), Mediapolis; Bryce Houser (10), Lone Tree. Infielders: Josh Michel (12), Highland; Sam Loyd (11), New London; Drew Chiprez (9), Notre Dame; Blake Burgess (12), Central Lee; Trenton Massner (11), Wapello. Outfielders: Jake Wood (12), Highland; Blake Nehring (12), New London; Daniel Crooks (11), West Burlington; Jake Huff (12), Pekin; Kleyton Benedict (12), Winfield-Mt. Union. Utility: Brock Hilton (12), Mediapolis; Avery Knock (10), Lone Tree; Torell Washington (11), Pekin.

SEISC COACH OF THE YEAR: Seth Milledge, Highland

Comments (0)
If you wish to comment, please login.