Mt Pleasant News

Wash Journal   Fairfield Ledger
Neighbors Growing Together | Jul 16, 2018

SLIAC announces men’s soccer list

Nov 06, 2017

The All-Conference award recipients for the 2017 men’s soccer season were announced last night by the St. Louis Intercollegiate Athletic Conference. The awards were presented after the tournament championship in Elsah, Illinois, with Principia earning Player of the Year and Newcomer of the Year. Fontbonne received Coach of the Year, and MacMurray was awarded the team Sportsmanship award. Iowa Wesleyan had six players receive All-Conference honors, four more than a season ago.

Blas Villaseca was the lone member of the team to earn first team honors. Villaseca was named First Team Midfielder for his play this season. He finished third on the conference leader boards with fifty-five shots taken on the year. Villaseca recorded sixteen points this season, scoring six goals and four assists.

Alejo Vaccaro was named Second Team Defender. Vaccaro played in seventeen games and started fourteen for the Tigers. He was an anchor for the IW defense.

Iowa Wesleyan had three members earn Third Team honors. The three members were Alvaro Sebastian (Forward), Eliecer Urena (Midfielder), and Gonzalo Rubio (Defender). Sebastian scored five goals and had an assist for the Tigers this season. He also had two game winning goals for IW. Urena netted four goals and had two assists, scoring ten points on the year. He was 1-1 on penalty kicks as well. Gonzalo Rubio was another key player on the Tiger defense. He started and played in eighteen games for Iowa Wesleyan.

The final member to receive All-Conference honors was Jose Antonio Sanchez Lorenzo. Lorenzo was named to the All-Sportsmanship Team. Each coach nominates a player from their team that best exemplifies sportsmanship. Lorenzo played sixteen games for the Tigers, starting in fourteen of them. He scored two goals on the season.

Iowa Wesleyan finished the regular season in third place with a 10-7-2 overall record and a SLIAC record of 6-2-1.

To see the full list of All-Conference award winners, visit

Comments (0)
If you wish to comment, please login.