Mt Pleasant News

Wash Journal   Fairfield Ledger
Neighbors Growing Together | Oct 23, 2017

Taylor to cheer with All-State squad at boys’ basketball tournament

Mar 08, 2013
Photo by: contributed Sidney Taylor

DES MOINES — Mt. Pleasant’s Sidney Taylor will return to the basketball court in Wells Fargo Arena today, performing as part of the All-State cheer squad.

The squad, made up of 31 girls from across the state of Iowa, will perform at halftime in three state tournament boy’ basketball games.

They will be performing at two of the afternoon games, and then they will have the opportunity to show off their routine one more time at the Friday night championship.

The championship game will be televised, and the members of the All-State cheer squad will be introduced after their halftime performance.

More than 250 cheerleaders attended the try-out for the All-State squad in the fall in Ames, and Taylor was one of just three freshmen who was chosen.

The girls who made it have had four practices in Ames, working to put together the tough routine that they are performing tonight. They then had two practices together in Des Moines: one last night and one this morning.

“The stunts are a really high difficulty,” said Taylor’s coach and sister, Nikole Keaster.

The full Mt. Pleasant cheer squad has already been honored in Des Moines, as they performed at halftime during one of the early Class 3A first-round games on Tuesday.

They eanred the honor when they won the Class 3A division of the Iowa State Cheerleading Championships in Des Moines in November, placing first of 15 squads to take the title of state champion.

That competition was at the state fairgrounds.

The Panther squad is made up of Zana Jarrett, MacKena Steenblock, Michaela Mathews, Karla Figueroa, Jenny Miller, Andrea Glick, Jayde Mumme, Kailey Peterson, Jasmine Craff, Courtney Mabeus, Leslie Taylor, Jessie Sirivath, Sidney Taylor, Amy Buckert, Chelsey Stark, Hailie Baccam, Morgan Barton and Gaby Moriera.

Comments (0)
If you wish to comment, please login.