Mt Pleasant News

Wash Journal   Fairfield Ledger
Neighbors Growing Together | Jul 18, 2018

Ten Panthers named to All-SEC baseball teams

Jul 21, 2017
Photo by: Andy Krutsinger Pat Canby hit .495 with 34 RBIs to earn his spot on the All-SEC first team.

By Andy Krutsinger, Mt. Pleasant News


The Southeast Conference champions were represented well this year on the All-SEC baseball team, which was released this week.

The Panthers had 10 total representatives. Five players made the first team, three made the second team and two were honorable mentions.

Leading Mt. Pleasant on the All-SEC first team was a trio of infielders. The Panthers had three of the four infielders selected to the first team. Seniors Pat Canby and Zac Ebeling were named to the first team along with junior Cooper Huckabone.

Canby led the team with a .495 average this season. He co-led the team with two home runs, led the team with 42 runs scored and finished third in RBIs, with 34. Canby finished the season with 18 doubles, 10 more than the next Panther.

Ebeling hit .405 in his seinor season. He led the team with 53 hits and 36 RBIs. He had two homers and was one of three Panthers to hit multiple triples this season, finishing with two.

Huckabone hit .392 in 2017, with 35 RBIs and one home run, which came in their only postseason matchup. He hit two triples and led the team with 21 walks on the year.

Outfielder Keegan Rich was named to the first team. Rich batted .329 this season with 27 runs scored. He was 16 for 18 in stolen bases this year.

Zach Beason, a junior, was named to the first team as a pitcher. He came on strong this season witha 1.43 ERA, which co-led the team and led all starting pitchers. He struck 30 batters out this season, one of four Panthers to have over 25 Ks. Hitters batted just .156 against Beason, which led the team (minimum five appearances).

Junior Colby Potts made the second team for Mt. Pleasant as a pitcher. Potts had a 3.20 ERA with a team-leading 35 strikeouts. He held batters to a .266 batting average.

The Panthers had two other players make the second team. Sophomor eoutfielder Chase Lamm (.239, 22 stolen bases, 36 runs scored) and junior catcher Caleb Potts (.266, 29 hits, 29 RBIs) each made the squad.

Horable mentions for the Panthers were junior outfielder/pitcher Jordan Magnani (.259, 21 hits, 1.99 ERA) and senior pitcher Dalton Shull (4.01 ERA, 26 Ks) were named to the team.

The Panther baseball team also excelled in the classroom this year. The Panthers led the SEC with eight names on the All-Academic team.

Below are all four all-SEC teams including the full list for academic all-conference.

ALL-SEC FIRST TEAM: Pitchers: Cameron Baumann (12) (POY), Fairfield; Graham Kuehl (11), Fairfield; Zach Beason (10), Mt. Pleasant. Catcher: Kosta Papazaglou (10), Fairfield. Infield: Pat Canby (12), Mt. Pleasant; Cooper Huckabone (11), Mt. Pleasant; Zac Ebeling (12), Mt. Pleasant; Austin Simpson (10), Fairfield. Outfield: Keegan Rich (11), Mt. Pleasant; Cade Lisk (11), Fairfield; Gavin Thompson (12), Keokuk. DH: Jake Jones (11), Keokuk; Collin Zear (12), Washington.

ALL-SEC SECOND TEAM: Pitchers: Colby Potts (11), Mt. Pleasant; Jacob Hall (11), Washington; Andrew Patterson, Keokuk. Catcher: Caleb Potts (11), Mt. Pleasant. Infield: Aaron Vittetoe (12), Washington; Tristan Waugh (10), Fairfield; Hunter Hoskins (11), Fairfield; Jordyn Gerdes (10), Ft. Madison. Outfield: Ryan Loy (12), Washington; Bryce Miller (11), Keokuk; Chase Lamm (10), Mt. Pleasant. DH: Zach Londberg (12), Washington. Utility: Michel Gier (12), Washington.

ALL-SEC HONORABLE MENTION: Brandon Smithburg (12), Fairfield; Cooper Drish (10), Fairfield; Tyler O’Tool (11), Ft. Madison; Logan Allen (11), Ft. Madison; Dalton Boecker (10), Keokuk; Reade Reiter (12), Keokuk; Jordan Magnani (11), Mt. Pleasant; Dalton Shull (12), Mt. Pleasant; Noah Enfield (12), Washington; Bryce Craff (12), Washington.

ACADEMIC ALL-SEC: Jacob Hall (11), Washington; Erik Murphy (11), Washington; Noah Enfield (12), Washington; Aaron Vittetoe (12), Washington; Collin Zear (12), Washington; Andrew Patterson (12), Keokuk; Reade Reiter (12), Keokuk; Gavin Thompson (12), Keokuk; Matt Wyatt (11), Keokuk; Keegan Rich (11), Mt. Pleasant; Jacob Fried (11), Mt. Pleasant; Jordan Magnani (11), Mt. Pleasant; Pat Canby (12), Mt. Pleasant; Jason Sammons (11), Mt. Pleasant; Colby Potts (11), Mt. Pleasant; Cooper Huckabone (11), Mt. Pleasant.


Comments (0)
If you wish to comment, please login.