Mt Pleasant News

Wash Journal   Fairfield Ledger
Neighbors Growing Together | Oct 19, 2017

WACO grapplers top Cardinal, fall to Mepo

Jan 13, 2017
Photo by: Andy Krutsinger Michael Arbogast gets Mediapolis’ Shane Yaley in an arm-lock during his 36-second win at 160 lbs.


Mt. Pleasant News

WAYLAND — Three area wrestling teams gathered at WACO High School on Thursday night for a triangular in the Southeast Iowa Super Conference.

WACO hosted Mediapolis and Cardinal. The Warriors split their two meets, defeating the Comets in the first match of the night, 42-29, and lost to the Bulldogs in the final dual, 52-30.

Mediapolis had two wins on the night. The Bulldogs defeated Cardinal, 54-18, in the night’s second dual.

In the opening match, Cardinal jumped out to a 15-9 lead over WACO thanks in part to a Trey Albert decision at 152 lbs. and an Austin Bride pin at 195 lbs.

The Warriors won five of the next six matches, however, including a Kade Mckinney decision at 220 lbs., and four forfeit victories.

Cardinal got a couple of wins by major decision from Noel Martinez, at 132 lbs., and Kade Chance, at 138 lbs., but it wasn’t enough as WACO came away with the victory.

“We knew at 220 lbs., we were going to have a match,” said Seth Pugh about the first dual. “I was impressed with our 220-pounder (Mckinney) there and then our 170-pounder (Tim Ackles) went out there and competed as well. I’m really proud of both of those guys.”

Cardinal was able to win three of the first five matches against Mediapolis, including a 170 lbs. win from Andrew Martinez. Kade Chance won by decision later in the dual, at 138 lbs., but the Bulldogs filled the gaps with a handful of wins, both by pin and forfeit.

In the final dual, WACO won four of the first seven matches including a pin by Cody Crawford, at 285 lbs. Mediapolis, however, was able to win six matches in a row before Michael Arbogast stopped the streak with a pin at 160 lbs.

After the match, Pugh said duals against top-knotch programs like Mediapolis is just what WACO needs to help their program grow.

“Those are the teams that we need to be wrestling because those are the teams we strive to beat,” Pugh said. “We’re not there yet, but that’s how you get better, by picking up the competition.”

Full results of all three duals can be found below:

WACO 42 vs. Cardinal 29: 152: Trey Albert (Card) dec. Hunter Donaldson (WACO) (5-0). 160: Michael Arbogast (WACO) wins by forfeit. 170: Tim Ackles (WACO) dec. Brody Adam (Card) (3-1). 182: Andrew Martinez (Card) wins by forfeit. 195: Austin Bride (Card) pins Isaiah Johnson (WACO) (1:09). 220: Kade Mckinney (WACO) dec. Will Gonzalez-Tapetillo (4-2). 285: Cody Crawford (WACO) wins by forfeit. 106: Trevor Wilbanks (Card) wins by forfeit. 113: Scott Christofferson (WACO) wins by forfeit. 120: Jaden Williams (WACO) wins by forfeit. 126: Robert Frazer (WACO) wins by forfeit. 132: Noel Martinez (Card) major dec. Chase Hesseltine (WACO) (12-4). 138: Kade Chance (Card) major dec. Christian Tennant (WACO). 145: Joey Collier (WACO) wins by forfeit.

Mediapolis 54 vs. Cardinal 18: 160: Shane Yaley (Mepo) pins Brody Adam (Card) (4:54). 170: Andrew Martinez (Card) dec. Levi Eberhardt (4-3). 182: Austin Bride (Card) wins by forfeit. 195: Riley Silva (Mepo) wins by forfeit. 220: Will Gonzalez-Tapetillo (Card) wins by forfeit. 285: Brennan Breuer (Mepo) wins by forfeit. 106: Jordan Riherd (Mepo) pins Trevor Wilbanks (Card) (2:45). 113: Double forfeit. 120: Drayven Fenton (Mepo) wins by forfeit. 126: Zach Osborne (Mepo) wins by forfeit. 132: Reese Thornburg (Mepo) pins Noel Martinez (Card) (1:29). 138: Kade Chance (Card) dec. Hunter Aney (3-0). 145: Remmington Benz (Mepo) wins by forfeit. 152: Brennan Swafford (Mepo) pins Trey Albert (Card) (0:41).

Mediapolis 52 vs. WACO 30: 170: Levi Eberhardt (Mepo) pins Tim Ackles (0:28). 182: Isaiah Johnson (WACO) wins by forfeit. 195: Riley Silva (Mepo) wins by forfeit. 220: Kade Mckinney (WACO) wins by forfeit. 285: Cody Crawford (Mepo) pins Brennan Breuer (Mepo) (2:26). 106: Jorden Riherd (Mepo) wins by forfeit. 113: Scott Christofferson (WACO) wins by forfeit. 120: Drayven Fenton (Mepo) pins Jaden Williams (WACO) (2:00). 126: Zach Osborne (Mepo) pins Robert Frazer (WACO) (1:04). 132: Reese Thornburg (Mepo) pins Jalen Collins (1:28). 138: Caden Benz (Mepo) pins Chase Hesseltine (WACO) (1:44). 145: Remmington Benz major dec. Hunter Donaldson (WACO) (9-0). 152: Brennan Swafford (Mepo) pins Joey Collier (WACO) (0:57). 160: Michael Arbogast (WACO) pins Shane Yaley (Mepo) (0:36).


Comments (0)
If you wish to comment, please login.