Mt Pleasant News

Wash Journal   Fairfield Ledger
Neighbors Growing Together | Nov 20, 2017

Wayland Area News

By JUDITH HUEHOLT, Wayland correspondent | Jul 24, 2013

Wayland Lions Club meeting

The Wayland Lions Club held its regular meeting on Tuesday, July 16, at the Wayland Community Center. President Jay Meyer called the meeting to order and led the Pledge of Allegiance. Bob Meyer offered the invocation.

The treasurer’s report and secretary minutes were approved as given by Terry Kaufman and Carol Shumaker, respectively.

The Annual 4th of July Pancake Breakfast set a new record for attendees and contributions. The proceeds from this event helped provide a donation to the Insight Partnership Group for disability technical training and development and the Wayland City Central Park fund for new equipment.

Wayland Lions Membership Chairman, Brian Pattyson, updated the members on the progress being made toward the Oct. 15 New Lion Member meeting to be held at the Wayland Community Center.

Stan Meyer reported on the Leo Club at WACO High School that recently received a 10-year anniversary patch.

In the new school year, a member of each of the Wayland, Olds and Crawfordsville Lions Clubs will be appointed as liaison between the clubs and the school’s designated Leo contact and coordinator.

This new relationship will benefit the Leo Club responsibility and activity to the sponsoring clubs’ communities. Lion Larry Graber was presented a 10-Year lions pin from President Jay Meyer. President Meyer also congratulated Chad Hudson and presented his membership certificate and Lions pin.

The Wayland Lions Club will hold its annual rose sale in August for delivery on Sept. 21. Secretary Carol Shumaker announced that the price for a dozen roses will still be only $15.

The Wayland Lions Club Board will be reinstating their 6 p.m. board meetings prior to the Lions Club regular meeting, the third Tuesday of every month.

Outgoing President Jay Meyer presented the gavel to Marianne Pattyson, president-elect.

Other officers inducted were: Randy Fehr, first vice president; Royce Roth, second vice president; Tim Egli, third vice president; Gail Simmering, secretary; and Terry Kaufman, treasurer.

Comments (0)
If you wish to comment, please login.