Mt Pleasant News

Wash Journal   Fairfield Ledger
Neighbors Growing Together | Nov 23, 2017

Wayland's Robert Meyer lands major award from commission

Jan 29, 2013

BURLINGTON — Robert Meyer of Wayland has been named the 2012 recipient of the LeRoy Meyer Award, given annually by the Southeast Iowa Regional Planning Commission (SEIRPC).

The award recognizes a non-elected individual who has made outstanding volunteer and community development contributions within his/her community in the Southeast Iowa Region.

Meyer was nominated by the City of Wayland for the award. He has been a long-time supporter of Wayland and Henry County and is currently secretary/treasurer of the Wayland Economic Group, of which he is a charter member.

Meyer currently is a board member of the Mt. Pleasant Area Development Commission, WACO Community School Foundation, Wayland Economic Development Corporation Revolving Loan Fund, chairperson for the Henry County Revolving Loan Fund, Enhanced Henry County Foundation, Henry County Health Center Board of Trustees and Wayland Lions Club.

A graduate of WACO High School, Meyer lives in Wayland with his wife, Karen. He has been in the banking business for more than 30 years, currently serving as president and a board member of Wayland State Bank. The Meyers attend Sugar Creek Mennonite Church.

Meyer was presented the award on Jan. 24.

Dan Wilson, mayor of Columbus Junction received the other major SEIRPC honor. Wilson, the mayor of Columbus Junction, was named the Leland McCosh Award recipient.

The McCosh Award is presented each year in recognition of outstanding public service to the citizens of his/her community, county and southeast Iowa.


Comments (0)
If you wish to comment, please login.